Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
goldeneyez

Web Between Worlds (RUMOR) vs. A Proposition (Mythos)

6 posts in this topic

Hello,

 

My wife and I have a disagreement about how a Mythos card, A Proposition, would effect an Epic Monster that was spawned from a Rumor Mythos card.  A Proposition, has an event that states "The Lead Investigator may gain a Dark Pact Condition to immediately solve 1 RUMOR Mythos in play."  When she got this the RUMOR card, Web Between Worlds, which spawns the Spinner of Webs Epic Monster on Space 9.  That card also goes on to state that when it is defeated, solve this RUMOR.

 

Our dispute comes from how the Event from A Proposition plays out.  My opinion is that if the Lead Investigator chooses to gain the Dark Pact and solve the RUMOR, the Spinner of Webs Epic Monster will stay out because it was never defeated, and the Event just says solve the RUMOR.  It seems to me that defeating the Spinner of Webs is a way to solve the RUMOR, but using the Event from "A Proposition" is another way to solve the RUMOR, but it doesn't have any effect on the Spinner of Webs.

 

My wife thinks that when you solve the RUMOR, the Spinner of Webs is discarded as well because it is part of the RUMOR.  She points to the updated Eldritch Horror FAQ under Clarifications where it states:

 

When resolving a Mythos card, all elements of the card must be resolved if possible.  If a Mythos card's effect is to resolve an additional Mythos card, all elements of that additional card must also be resolved.

 

I think thematically, what my wife is saying makes sense, but just going by what's on the cards, I disagree with her.

 

Does anyone have any thoughts on this particular issue?

 

Thanks.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think you would not discard the Spinner of Webs. Proposition would only stop the Rumor effects

 

If the Spinner is defeated, the rumor is resolved. The rumor resolving doesn't mean the monster is defeated or discarded unless I missed something somewhere.

 

If A, then B. B does not necessarily imply A.

 

Still it's worthwhile, as Web Between Worlds can cause you to lose the game entirely. Once that is resolved, you just have a giant spider harmlessly chilling in Greenland as far as I can tell.

Glaurung likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Don't have the cards in front of me right now, but I'd say Wolfgar is right saying there is no double implication (if A implies B, then B must imply A). You solve the rumor, hence all the bad stuff happening for not passing it are no real threat, but the monster will stay there.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0