Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Improvisor

Toad Issue When Spells Are Cast

Recommended Posts

The 4th Edition Revised Rules say one must remain a toad (once selected) for three turns.  Does that mean three complete turns?  That is the way I am interpreting.

 

Now to the serious issue:  A person became a toad at the beginning of her turn as she was finishing her turn.  I ruled as the judge that she became a toad at that point (when the "temporal" spell was cast from another player)  and finished that part  of her turn.  She as the character had two more turns as a toad before returning to her original character.  Others in the tournament argued that she had three full turns to be a toad instead of the two.  Was I correct in the ruling for two more complete turns?  It is a frustrating business trying to interpret between the lines of the Talisman Rules for 4th Edition Revised.

 

Best, Mr. Talisman

Northridge, CA

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

First off, it depends on when she became a toad, either at the beginning of her turn or end of it.

 

If she is turned into a toad before she moves (such as someone casting a spell on her), then that turn would count as one of the turns as a toad - she would have two turns as a toad left.

 

if she is turned into a toad after she moves (due to spell or encounter), then she would have 3 turns as a toad to go

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I agree with Hunter as well.

 

In Talisman, a turn consists of remaining encounters. You draw cards if applicable, resolve them in order, and finally encounter space instructions if applicable. (Or, you encounter a character). Even if you have already done some of these steps, if you still have remaining encounters, that counts as a "full turn" for the purposes of effects.

 

So, if an effect turns you into a toad and you still have remaining encounters, your current turn counts as one of your toad turns. Consider landing on the hills with the Witch and some gold coins. Gold coins (like bags of gold) are encounter #5. So you encounter the Witch first. If she turns you into a toad, the current turn counts as one of your toad turns because you still have to encounter the gold. On the other hand, if you landed on the City which had some gold coins, you take the gold first (before you follow space instructions), so if the Enchantress turns you into a toad, then your next turn is your first toad turn. It's the same principle when a card causes you to "miss a turn."

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I agree with Artaterex, should be treated that same way you count turns for skipping them, so as long as you have a card elft to encounter the turn you get toaded counts as one.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...