Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Haunster

Charlie Kan'e Ability Vs Delayed Condition

7 posts in this topic

I am curious if Charlie's action ability allows a delayed character to act.

Charlie's action ability states: "Another investigator of your choice may immediately perform 1 additional action". The delayed rules state: "Instead of performing actions during the action phase, a delayed investigator rights his investigator token and is no longer delayed.

Following are my questions and comments:

1. If Charlie performs his action ability after a character "rights his token and is no longer delayed", it would seem to me that the character can take the bestowed action that turn. Is this correct?

2. If so, one could then argue that if Charlie performs his action ability while a character is still delayed (i.e before a character has taken his actions during the action phase), the bestowed action from Charlie would allow the character to "right his token" and no longer be delayed. 

Welcome comments on this. Thanks.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

My personal view on this, that it is not possible, since the Rules says that if a character is Delayed, then the only action for that character to do is to 'stand up' on the map. That 'action' covers all of his/her possible action steps, even if it is 2 (the original amount) or 3 (with Charlie's ability) or even 4 (with Ruby of Ryleh item effect).  Even if the character would be able to perform 10 actions, the Delayed situation 'eats' all of his/her actions, regardless of what else happening with the character.

Edited by Croaton

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Agreed with Croaton. The only way I can see Charlie's ability working is if he uses his ability on a character who already had his Action Phase and after that Action Phase is no longer Delayed.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think Julia's summed it up correctly.  Here are relevant sections from the reference guide:

 

Investigator Abilities, Charlie Kane p. 13:

  • Charlie cannot use his action ability on an investigator that is Delayed. 

Delayed (p. 4)

  • Instead of performing actions during the Action Phase, a Delayed investigator rights his Investigator token and is no longer delayed. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

I think Julia's summed it up correctly.  Here are relevant sections from the reference guide:

 

Investigator Abilities, Charlie Kane p. 13:

  • Charlie cannot use his action ability on an investigator that is Delayed. 

Delayed (p. 4)

  • Instead of performing actions during the Action Phase, a Delayed investigator rights his Investigator token and is no longer delayed. 

 

That's how we've played it.  Seems right. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Here's another question regarding Charlie's ability: can it be used to allow another investigator two travel actions? For example, suppose Mark first prepares to travel as his first action, then travels as a second action. Then on Charlie's turn he gives mark an immediate additional action. Can Mark use this additional action to take another travel action? Thanks!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Here's another question regarding Charlie's ability: can it be used to allow another investigator two travel actions?

No.

The amount of actions you have, and the "can't take same action twice" restriction, are completely independent matters.

FractalMind likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0