Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Cthonian

A question about bank loan ...and about used assets ...

9 posts in this topic

Hello there ..

I played my first Eldritch Horror yesterday and i had a blast  !! .. It's for me one of the top games i have ever played all these years i am in this hobby .. ( yeah i know i am a bit impulsive but ...)

 

Anyway i wanted to ask two questions .

 

a) About the bank loan .. I am a bit confused how that play's , in my playthrough i did n't use this . From what i read , i understand that you take a loan to have two successes for the future tests you ll encounter in actions or encounters , is this right ? for example .. i take a loan as an action( aquire asset ), i take a debt condition , i use the debt's  local action as a success to discard it and i have another success for an encounter , i am not sure if this is right and i ask ..

 

b) When a new investigator enter's play taking the place of a defeated one , and a starting asset-item-spell  of his  is in the inventory of another investigator , he take it or he enters play without it ..? That happened with the sailor that replaced a defeated inevstigator and his fish-net was in the reserve which i gave him outright but if this item was owned by someone else ?

 

Thank you

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No, you have the Bank Loan messed up.

 

During your turn, on the action phase, if you are on city space, you can take an Acquire Assets action. You roll Influence, and try to get a number of successes equal to the value of the item you want. So if I want a King James Bible, I need to roll to successes. What the Bank Loan does is that in exchange for the Debt condition, you automatically gain two successes to the roll. It's a really good deal.

 

The local action to discharge Debt, and indeed, any roll that isn't Acquiring Assets gains no benefit from the Bank Loan. Likewise, you only get the benefit one time. for that one Acquire Assets roll. If you want to get it for another Acquire Assets roll, you have to first get rid of any Debt on the character and then take on a fresh Debt condition.

 

If an investigator's starting equipment is already taken by another investigator, then he is out of luck. He gets nothing. If his equipment is in the reserve or discard piles, then he receives it normally. You can of course always trade.

Cthonian likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No, you have the Bank Loan messed up.

 

During your turn, on the action phase, if you are on city space, you can take an Acquire Assets action. You roll Influence, and try to get a number of successes equal to the value of the item you want. So if I want a King James Bible, I need to roll to successes. What the Bank Loan does is that in exchange for the Debt condition, you automatically gain two successes to the roll. It's a really good deal.

 

The local action to discharge Debt, and indeed, any roll that isn't Acquiring Assets gains no benefit from the Bank Loan. Likewise, you only get the benefit one time. for that one Acquire Assets roll. If you want to get it for another Acquire Assets roll, you have to first get rid of any Debt on the character and then take on a fresh Debt condition.

 

If an investigator's starting equipment is already taken by another investigator, then he is out of luck. He gets nothing. If his equipment is in the reserve or discard piles, then he receives it normally. You can of course always trade.

 

Thank you very much !!.. Now it makes sense !!! :D  Ok now i see all these wasted opportunities ... It was really difficult to aquire a good asset and with the loan it would be more easy ..

Yeah it was complete messed up in my mind this rule ..

Edited by Cthonian

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

i couldn't think it that way somehow <_<  .. you decide to take the loan before or after roling the dice for asset check..?

Edited by Cthonian

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In my last game I put the debt cards on top of the bank loan picture. It was more visually pleasing and much handier than shuffling through the condition cards for a debt card.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes, after. If you look carefully at the wording, it reads you immediately add 2 successes to the result. If it had to be done before rolling, to what would you add the successes? Hence, the only logical implication is after :)

Glaurung likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0