Sign in to follow this  
Omnus

Anyone know When the FFG License is up?

Hey all. Im just getting started in X-wing and Ive fallen in love with it. Im also a competitive mini-wargamer (see Warmachine) and want to get in deep here. My only concern is that Disney would not renew the License and the game would reach a dead end in the future. 

Does anyone know when the license is up for renewal?

I dont think Disney is some horrible company with our game on the chopping block, but Im interested to se what happens. If anything, I could see Disney making the renewal cost a bit too high for FFG... but we'll see. 

Given the huge success of the game, and the fact that Disney doesn't own a subsidiary company with the same standing and skillset as FFG (it made sense to oust Dark Horse in favour of Marvel to publish the comics for instance), I consider it unlikely.

It's Disney.  They are moving the assets in the franchise to subsidiaries that they do control.  From the business side of things, it makes perfect sense.  The question is, does Disney own a gaming company like Parker Bros, or something similar?  If they do, then there is a good chance that this will happen in the future.  I will continue to enjoy the game as much as I do until I can no longer do so.

In an interview by the folks at Team Covenant, Steve Horvath (Senior Vice President of Communications at FFG) said at Gencon last year, "This is just the beginning."

I know that's vague, but I get the impression FFG has waves of ships planned out for the coming years. I don't think  anything to worry about.