Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
herkrieger

Force Fields and concussive weapon ?

5 posts in this topic

Hi,

 

I have a question on the concussive weapon like the thunder hammer when the player struck a Force fields.

 

A concussive weapon only need to struck the player. But if the guy have a Force field. How work it for the concussive qualitites ? 

 

Ok for cancel the dommage of the hit, but a force field don't stop the concussive blast , no ? The sound, blast and all pleasure of a thunder hammer ?

 

Thanks.

 

(Sorry for my english)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

are you sure ?

 

Because other qualities explain that the hit need damage. But in concussive (in French Version and English version) the qualitie explain only need to Stuck the target (no word on a wound for the stun, only for the kick down).

 

And I find logical, because the strike blast with sound wabe/explosion or all other fun stuff. (After, with 2D10+9 .. I think we always wound the target ^^.

 

(Sorry again for my english).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Whether it is on hit or damage the point remains. The field negates the hit in full, the weapon never touches you to do damage. You could presume that the field also negates the concussive effect which the weapon causes.

 

The weapons English description says "when struck by..." same as Deathwatch rules which means it has to hit you, not damage. Additional the rules for force fields states in their main description:

 

If the result is lower than or equal to the field’s protection rating, the attack is nullified and has no effect on the protected character (although the attack may have an impact on the character’s surroundings or other nearby characters, such as weapons with the Blast Quality).

 

Basically meaning that you shrug it and any negative effects off from it entirely. So if you are hit with a concussive weapon, even though it's enough to trigger the concussive special rule, the rules for Force Fields overrides. Of course at GM discretion they could ignore this depending what struck the character and the type of forcefield. 

Edited by Calgor Grim

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

When I say "when damage is dealt" I mean when damage is applied versus soak. It doesn't imply you have to wound someone. Doing 1 damage vs 1000 AP and 100 T, you still deal damage, but it doesn't wound someone.

 

You only do damage when a hit is not negated by a force field and when someone does not evade it.

Tenebrae likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0