Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
nismojoe

Ranged Attack?

6 posts in this topic

According to the new FAQ/Errata

 

 

Q: What counts as a "ranged" attack?

A: A ranged attack is an attack made by a character with the ranged keyword against an enemy engaged with another player

 

 

Attacking the staging area doesn't count as a ranged attack?

 

More importantly, Hands Upon the Bow + Bard

Edited by nismojoe

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

On its own, an attack made into the staging area is not considered ranged.

 

The card text in Great Yew Bow specifically states that the attack will be ranged.  So when you use GYB to attack the staging area, it's considered a ranged attack.

 

When you use Hands Upon the Bow, there is nothing to indicate that the attack is ranged, so Bard will not get his -2 defense effect.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I dislike that.....

 

For some reason I always considered enemies engaged with you as a melee combat and all others are ranged.

 

Gross

 

Just reread the rule book on pg 24.

Looks a ranged attack works if an enemy in the staging area is considered "to be engaged to another player."

Edited by nismojoe

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If a hero (like legolas) is ranged, he can't attack an enemy in the staging area though right? Ranged is specifically for multiple players and assisting another player who is engaged with an enemy...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeah--"ranged" alone doesn't allow you to attack the staging area.  But there are some enemies who stay in the staging area and are simultaneously "considered to be engaged with" a player, like the Smaug the Magnificent in The Lonely Mountain quest.  You could make a ranged attack against that enemy if it is currently considered to be engaged with another player, even though it is in the staging area.  But you couldn't use something like Hands Upon the Bow if the card is "immune to player card effects."

 

Here's a question though: Durin's Bane in Shadow and Flame is considered to be engaged with all players who have a threat of 1 or more.  Can you make a ranged attack if everyone has more than 1 threat?  He is engaged with YOU, but also engaged with other players...

Edited by GrandSpleen

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeah--"ranged" alone doesn't allow you to attack the staging area.  But there are some enemies who stay in the staging area and are simultaneously "considered to be engaged with" a player, like the Smaug the Magnificent in The Lonely Mountain quest.  You could make a ranged attack against that enemy if it is currently considered to be engaged with another player, even though it is in the staging area.  But you couldn't use something like Hands Upon the Bow if the card is "immune to player card effects."

 

Here's a question though: Durin's Bane in Shadow and Flame is considered to be engaged with all players who have a threat of 1 or more.  Can you make a ranged attack if everyone has more than 1 threat?  He is engaged with YOU, but also engaged with other players...

I would personally say yes as long as you join in on someone else's attack, like whoever has a board of attackers with no ranged obviously.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0