Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
mewmartigan

treachery cancelled by an event card as a "shadow"

4 posts in this topic

So I was playing tonight, finally trying to beat the Passage through Mirkwood scenario with a Spirit/Tactics deck. I am finding it really hard for some reason. Eowyn quests and since there are so few allies for these spheres in the core set, my other heros have to defend...which leaves nobody to attack and the bad guys just build up until I am overwhelmed.

 

Tonight I finally beat the scenario (naturally I had Beorn's Path and then had U.S. come into play anyway during the 3rd stage).

 

It all hinges on a rule clarification though. I had an event card called Hasty Stroke which says I can "cancel a shadow effect just triggered during combat".

 

Is the shadow effect the shadow card? Or is it the actual "shadow text" on a shadow card?

 

The shadow card was Necromancer's Reach Treachery. If applied, it would have killed two heros and my Northern Tracker ally. I would have lost the game without a doubt in the next round. Instead, I used the event card to cancel the shadow effect of the treachery card. I believe this is allowed as the treachery card was the "shadow" effect during the combat phase right?  Or is it not allowed because a treachery card doesn't actually have any "shadow text"?

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You're going to like and hate the answer at the same time!

 

When a card appears as a shadow card (i.e., deal it to an enemy during the combat phase, and look at it during attack resolution), the entire card is inactive EXCEPT the shadow text.  Necromancer's Reach has no shadow text -- this means that the card has NO effect if dealt as a shadow card.  Shadow cards only have an effect is there is actual shadow text.

 

So Necromancer's Reach, dealt as a shadow card, would have no effect on your party. Victory!

 

That part you like :)  On the other hand, it also means that you have probably been making the game very hard on yourself by resolving effects that didn't need to be resolved! And if you are like me, you will take this to mean your wins are not fully "valid," oh noes!  But hopefully you are not so anal and will recognize that you triumphed in the face of unnecessary adversity.

mewmartigan likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Haha, thanks. I like that answer. I thought treachery cards were special and resolved no matter when they were revealed...as shadow, as staging area, as surge, as setup, etc....

 

Yeah, I had one or two other treachery cards as shadows that I resolved. If that is the case, I am making things tougher on myself! Perhaps that is why I had such a hard time with the scenario and the Spirit/tactics deck.  

 

So my wins are not "valid" but since I play by myself, I just wont' tell myself and let myself go on thinking its all good. right?  :P

 

 

Oh, another question that popped up during my playthrough....one of the cards revealed during staging said "when revealed" add 1 threat to each enemy/location in staging area. If the staging area is empty the card gains surge.

 

If I have an event that cancels the "when revealed" part, does it also prevent the surge since the surge part is written within the "when revealed" text?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0