Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Bagdad

Lieutenants "agents" summoning question.

11 posts in this topic

"When an agent is defeated, the overlord must return the plot card that summoned the agent back to his plot deck. The card may be purchased again."

 

Not sure about this sentence. Does that means you have to spent tokens to purchase the card once more and then spent tokens to trigger it. (3 tokens + 2 tokens)

 

Or just spent the tokens to trigger it once more? (2 tokens)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You have to purchase the card again, and then trigger it again.  Plot cards that are in the deck are the ones you haven't purchased yet, and this rule instructs you to put the summon card back in the deck.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes, when an agent is defeated, you will have to spend threat tokens to purchase the summon card from the plot deck again, then spend threat tokens to activate the card, again. 

 

However, I do believe you can use the Reinforce card (Warlord 3) to bring back a defeated agent during the encounter, but the agent's summon card will still go back into the deck.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ah, ok then... It seems it cost a lot to summon an agent then. I Wonder if it's Worth it since they cannot re-inforce, and the master monsters they replace can re-inforce.

 

About the Warlord 3 card, it's written in the rules that regardless of the rules an agent can never be reinforced.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ah, ok then... It seems it cost a lot to summon an agent then. I Wonder if it's Worth it since they cannot re-inforce, and the master monsters they replace can re-inforce.

 

About the Warlord 3 card, it's written in the rules that regardless of the rules an agent can never be reinforced.

It's written that regardless of quest rules, an agent cannot be reinforced. Meaning no matter what the quest rule for reinforcements state, an agent is not eligible. However, the Reinforce card is not the same thing as the reinforcement quest rule. I'll admit I haven't checked to see if there is errata, so I'll be checking when I have the chance.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ok I just checked... The errata has completely changed the way the Reinforce card works, and an agent would not be eligible for the Reinforce card since now the Reinforce card only gives minion monsters and an agent counts as a master monster. Carry on!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ah, ok then... It seems it cost a lot to summon an agent then. I Wonder if it's Worth it since they cannot re-inforce, and the master monsters they replace can re-inforce.

It costs a lot if you lose him, yes.

As long as the agent does not get defeated, you only have to pay the "trigger cost" each encounter you want to summon him into. The question is whether or not the other abilities he brings into play are worth the steep cost to get him there.

You probably don't want to throw him around like an expendable front-line monster, though. =P

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I do think too that purchasing the card again is too much.

 

I would have liked something else, for example, the summoning card would be blocked for one or two missions.

 

The heroes will kill the agent almost all times, so summoning agent cost 5 finally

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Depends on the agent and the quest, every time my heroes fancy killing of an agent i look at it as actions lost for them rather then threat tokens lost. If they survive so much the better, if they die then it has probably gained me time to do what i need to do.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I noticed on some cards it's written: this card does not refresh as normal. (quest, encounters)

 

Can someone define "refresh as normal".

 

Do regular cards refresh at the start of each OL turn?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes - see the last sentence of step 1 of the Overlord Turn Summary on page 8 of the rulebook:

 

Start of Turn:

During this step, any effects affecting the overlord that

last “until the start of your next turn” end. Then, the overlord player

draws one Overlord card, and he may play any number of Overlord

cards that specifically state they may be played “at the start of your

turn.” Then the overlord player refreshes his exhausted cards.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0