Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
zell_brujah

Does Swarm token affects a Roc??

Recommended Posts

This came up one game and we thought it was pretty clear the Roc wouldn't be affected.

 

The Summon Swarm card says "Treat each hex containing a swarm token as blocking terrain.  When a unit moves into a hex containing a swarm token, it must end its movement and you roll 2 dice..."

 

The entry on Flying in the reference book says "A unit with the Flying ability does not apply the terrain effects of the hex it occupies or any hex it moves through during movement.  For example, a unit with the Flying ability that moves into a forest hex does not need to end its movement"

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In the bgg they responded me that swarm tokens affects the roc. That is because swarm tokens are not treated like terrain tokens. I think that if swarm tokens are terrain hex, then the daqan portal tokens would be terrain as well, so the roc must not teleport itself, because it ignores the effect as well.

I don't see this question as clear as you ;)

Thanks!!!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

We thought about that as well, but to us the Swarm token has two "terrain-like" properties... it blocks LOS and stops movement on entering.  So we went with treating it like terrain.

 

Looking at the rules for Portal, it doesn't have any "terrain-like" properties itself, you simply ignore any movement penalties of any terrain in the hex.  I'd say the Roc can use Portal.

 

Either way, an official ruling and/or FAQ would be nice.  It seems like this game is a hit so hopefully we get one soon.

Edited by Daverman

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...