Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Cwethan

Rhaegar timing question

Recommended Posts

When Rhaegar dies and his ability is triggered all remaining phases in that round end.  Do they end simultaneously or consecutively?

 

Essentially - would he still be in play (though of course moribund) as each of the phases ends if he died to a plot phase valar?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

All phases are considered to end sequentially. So if you Valar in the plot phase and Rhaegar is triggered, all of those Riverrun Guards with their "at the end of the challenge phase" effects are off the table when the "end of challenges" clean up happens.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

All phases are considered to end sequentially. So if you Valar in the plot phase and Rhaegar is triggered, all of those Riverrun Guards with their "at the end of the challenge phase" effects are off the table when the "end of challenges" clean up happens.

Follow up question....

So if Rhaegar dies, each phase still ends sequentially? So what would happen with the new Bloodthirst agenda if Rhaegar was used for claim durning a military challenge, but the Bloodthirst player still had fewer characters? Would he still get to draw two cards at the end of the challenge phase?

Edited by Butaman551

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

All phases are considered to end sequentially. So if you Valar in the plot phase and Rhaegar is triggered, all of those Riverrun Guards with their "at the end of the challenge phase" effects are off the table when the "end of challenges" clean up happens.

Follow up question....

So if Rhaegar dies, each phase still ends sequentially? So what would happen with the new Bloodthirst agenda if Rhaegar was used for claim durning a military challenge, but the Bloodthirst player still had fewer characters? Would he still get to draw two cards at the end of the challenge phase?

 

If it's an "end of phase" trigger, then, whoever fulfills it gets the benefit.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I assume that if someone has played Valaar and another player has played Battle of Oxcross - then if there were any survivors from the Valaar you would kill (one of) them at the end of the challenge phase (If Rhaegar dies from Valaar)

 

At the end of the challenge phase, each player who has not won a Military challenge must choose and kill 1 character he or she controls

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I assume that if someone has played Valaar and another player has played Battle of Oxcross - then if there were any survivors from the Valaar you would kill (one of) them at the end of the challenge phase (If Rhaegar dies from Valaar)

 

At the end of the challenge phase, each player who has not won a Military challenge must choose and kill 1 character he or she controls

correct

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'd forgotten that you still trigger all end of phase actions ... so I was thinking that if I ended the round my opponent would keep a character he had taken  (one that gets returned at end of phase) ... thankfully that it not correct

 

I was looking for a Rhaegar thread as I wanted to be sure about what happens

Even though it says "end the current round", you still go through the motions of ending each phase - ok !

 

Can his response be cancelled or does the round end when his response is triggered?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi, whilst im not disputing this, can you tell me where it is documented you have to complete the end of each phase ? This has confused me as the card states to 'end the round'.

 

Thanks

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
(v1.0) Rhaegar Targaryen F82 
When the round is brought to an end by 
Rhaegar's ability, the current phase and 
all phases remaining in the round are also 
considered to end. If the round ends during 
a challenge, that challenge ends without 
resolution

Straight from the FAQ. This avoids abilities lasting across second rounds, and all sorts of painful rules that would entail.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Can his response be cancelled or does the round end when his response is triggered?

 

The round ends when his response resolves. The opportunity to cancel an effect always comes before the effect resolves. So yes, his response can be canceled between its initiation and resolution using normal cancel timing.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

(v1.0) Rhaegar Targaryen F82 
When the round is brought to an end by 
Rhaegar's ability, the current phase and 
all phases remaining in the round are also 
considered to end. If the round ends during 
a challenge, that challenge ends without 
resolution

Straight from the FAQ. This avoids abilities lasting across second rounds, and all sorts of painful rules that would entail.

 

So if all remaining phases are considered to end, the effect of for example Riverrun would also take effect at the end of the challenge phase if Rhaegar somehow was killed during marshaling phase?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...