Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Exprise

Ettin: Throw

8 posts in this topic

Quick Question,

 

Re: Throw

i know it says (tap) it costs one action but can you do this two times as your two actions? or can it only be done once per turn?

 

And I'm also guessing you can attack and then throw as an alternate combination of actions.

 

Regards

Tom =)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In order for any monster ability to count as an attack, it must use the word "attack" in its description.

 

There are some monster abilities that will cause Stamina or Health loss that are not attacks.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

A simple one here... we ran into this situation recently, so I thought I'd ask.

 

Can an Ettin reach through two enemy heroes and grab a third hero 2 spaces away and then throw him? (Picture everyone in a line down a 2-square wide hallway). If so, essentially, the ettin can then take someone who's being "human shielded" and then throw him behind himself so that then it is HE that is standing in between the heroes and the other guy. (A good way to deal with a turtling Sir Palamon it seems). But, only if it's legal.

 

There's no specific reference to LOS with the Reach ability, and I realize you can reach around corners to pull it off. But, normally movement is blocked through squares occupied by enemies, etc. etc.

 

So what's the ruling..?  :ph34r:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The Ettin can only throw heroes adjacent to him, it says so in the description of the throw ability of the card.

Edited by Whitewing

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The Ettin can only throw heroes adjacent to him, it says so in the description of the throw ability of the card.

Fair enough... I guess the thought was that when a "reach" is involved with some sort of move, that 'adjacent' is now 2 spaces away. Seems obvious when stated plainly that it is not. :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Understandable- reach exclusively influences attack targeting (and elevation lines), and as was also addressed here, throw is not an attack. "Adjacent" always means the same thing in descent (exactly 1 space away), regardless of context.

Edited by Zaltyre

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0