Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Xeromus

Babe in the Woods, Needing help

8 posts in this topic

Okay,

 

So I dusted off a Anima book I purchased ages ago and am determined to try and get a game of it going.

 

Then I read the book again...

 

I contacted players and asked for characters

 

Then I read the book again...

 

I did some googling of things that confused me.

 

Then I read the book again...

 

I began running a quick game with a Mentalist, a Tao and a Dark Paladin.

 

This thread is more aimed to try and reach a better understanding, I have a really hard time following the rules of Anima because the format just seems allover the place to me.

 

That being said I am determined to figure it out and chew through it.

 

Can someone or a few people try to explain psi powers to me? With a example ideally?

 

I have a mentalist in the game who is asking questions and even reading the book I'm unsure of the answer to give him.

 

How does Psychic potential work vs Psychic Projection?

 

How does one go about actually using a Psi power? (is it just a porjection check, adding a floating amount of Psi pot?)

 

Hows does one resolve a psi power on a target?

 

How do innate slots work?

 

In the case, we have a mentalist telepathy/sentience user. and frankly I'm confused to hell.

 

any explanation or citations would be great.

 

Thanks in Advance.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Psychic potential is how much psychic power you have, so you roll a d100 and add your psychic potential to see how great the power is determined by the chart.

  • Say the character wants to use the power Psychic Illusion. They have 80 psychic potential and they roll a 50, that would give them a total of 130 on their psychic potential check which would only give them a Difficult difficulty on the check with the target having a psychic potential of 100.

Psychic Projection is used for targeting with a psychic power or when using a psychic shield.

  • Say your character got the Difficult difficulty on their Psychic Illusion, now they have to see if they "hit" the target. They roll their psychic potential versus the defense of the character to see if they hit. 
  • Unless the target can see supernatural, (I think) all sentience and telepathy powers are invisible and make targets take a blinded penalty.
  • It takes a minimum of 10% damage on the combat table to affect an opponent with a psychic power.

Innate slots allow characters to maintain a power at the highest level they can with their psychic potential.

  • A character with a psychic potential of 90 would only be able to maintain psychic powers at the Medium (80) difficulty level, unless the lowest successful difficulty level is higher than the character's potential. (i.e. A character with 90 potential would be able to maintain Mind Control at the Very Difficult (140) difficulty level because that is the lowest successful level of the power.)
  • A character must successfully use the power to maintain it. (i.e. Rolling a psychic potential that results in failure would not allow the character to maintain the power.)

 

I hope that helps.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It is as Rudeboygraves said. The best way to look at it is Potential is determining how powerful it is while projections is effectively the attack and defense aspect of it.

 

As a side note for supernatural shields in case this comes up, as the book is ambiguous about telling you straight forward, If the psychic or mage fails their projection roll to defend themselves against the attack they take damage just as they would normally. The shield only takes damage if the psychic or mage defends successfully and that damage is equal to the base damage of the weapon (applying all modifiers for strength ki abilities etc.)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As a side note for supernatural shields in case this comes up, as the book is ambiguous about telling you straight forward, If the psychic or mage fails their projection roll to defend themselves against the attack they take damage just as they would normally. The shield only takes damage if the psychic or mage defends successfully and that damage is equal to the base damage of the weapon (applying all modifiers for strength ki abilities etc.)

Ok I've been playing Anima for awhile now, and I just want to clarify some rule for myself. When you say take damage normally, what exactly do you mean. 

Cause how I've understood it, if you even miss your defense roll by 1 using a magic shield, its like you didnt defend at all and take the full oncoming damage from the enemy opponent that attacked you. If i'm wrong Plz PLZ correct me cause I've always hated that ruling but its how I've understood it to this point.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It's just like failing a defense roll. The shield helps deflect some of the blow but you still take damage equal to the degree of failure on the combat chart.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That is what we're here for. Also, welcome to the forums. If you haven't checked them out already, there are some "official" forums hosted at:

 

http://cipher-studios.com/AnimaBB/index.php

 

Some people prefer one or the other, some do both. I think the other is slightly more active, but not by much. Anyway, if you have any more questions, feel free to ask. :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0