Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Rogue 4

Control and Capturing ?s

20 posts in this topic

OK so we were playing last night and we have a few questions that might have been answered before so I would appreciate any help.

 

I play Join Me! against a non-unique character unit that was committed to the Light Side. When they move to my side are then committed to the Dark side? What would happen to any enhancements that would be on them?

ffg_join-me-balance-of-the-force-94-5.pnffg_daughters-of-allya-assault-on-echo-b

Another question had to do with "light" and "dark" cards. My opponent stole my resource enhancement, and then I wanted to steal it back, but because it was a "dark" card we didn't know if I could target it since my card targeted "light" cards. (I can't remember the card that I wanted to steal it back with, I am at work, when I get home I will edit this post).

ffg_smugglers-run-edge-of-darkness-74-5.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Return the LS commitment card to the LS supply. All enhancements leave as is. 

 

Smugglers Run says enemy card not LS or DS. The enhancement that was stolen by your opponent while he controls it is an enemy card and therefore eligible to be stolen back. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Smugglers Run says enemy card not LS or DS. The enhancement that was stolen by your opponent while he controls it is an enemy card and therefore eligible to be stolen back. 

 

Correct, that is not the card in reference. I will post it when I get home from work.

 

But if a card targets a "light" card (one with blue backing), and the smugglers run card takes a "dark" card (one with red backing), does that card become a "light" card?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Btw, my call on LS vs DS would be that the component section of the rules define dark side cards and light side cards by their card backs, and that therefore a LS card stays as a LS card even if it's been captured. (But that's yet not been confirmed by FFG, though the question's now been submitted.)

Edited by PBrennan

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The question was not towards a card reading, like I thought while at work, but the rules themselves on capturing. When my opponent captures a DS enhancement (one that generates a resource) and the DS tries to use "Utinni!" to capture it, can it? The rules state that only LS cards can be captured. So like PBrennan states, does the card have its backing identify what type card it is despite where it is located on the table?

Thanks.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

And yes, to confirm (when and if the ruling comes in), unless an effect specifically says you can "capture a light side card" or similar, which would directly contradict and therefore override the rules, then the rules must be obeyed, and the rules say "Only LS cards can be captured.". So normal capture effects cannot capture DS cards.

Edited by PBrennan

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

And yes, to confirm (when and if the ruling comes in), unless an effect specifically says you can "capture a light side card" or similar, which would directly contradict and therefore override the rules, then the rules must be obeyed, and the rules say "Only LS cards can be captured.". So normal capture effects cannot capture LS cards.

I think the last sentence should read "So normal capture effects cannot capture DS cards.", correct?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I haven't seen an official ruling posted, but I agree with PBrennan's assessment: You can only capture a LS card.  A DS card that the LS has control of is still a DS card and cannot be captured.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That seems logical. It would open a big can of worms if the dark side can capture their own cards. Otherwise, this is a good feature for the S&S decks.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Initially I would say yes, you can capture it regardless of if it is LS or DS.  Once it is taken, it belongs to your opponent.  And any capture cards refer to your enemy or opponent.  At which point, wherever it is placed then has to be destroyed, and instead of going to your opponent's hand, then goes to yours.  This way you can get it back, but at a cost as you have to lose something to have it returned.

 

The one thing I haven't seen mentioned in this is The Golden Rule on page 11.  Card text overrides the rule book.

Edited by Meudian

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Card text only overrides the rule book if it directly contradicts the rule book. The rule book says you can only capture LS cards, so when you're capturing you must abide by this. Only if a capturing effect specifically said you may capture a DS card, therefore directly contradicting the rule, could you do it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Card text only overrides the rule book if it directly contradicts the rule book. The rule book says you can only capture LS cards, so when you're capturing you must abide by this. Only if a capturing effect specifically said you may capture a DS card, therefore directly contradicting the rule, could you do it.

 

I understand that and agree. I am curious to know if it is the card backing that "makes" a card or if it is "side-of-table" that does. Does that make sense?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Here's the complete answer for those that might be interested in seeing it.

 

Defined by ownership (card backs). 
 
Rulebook, page 26 "Only LS cards can be captured."  Even if the light-side player controls the card, it is still a DS card.  You would need an explicit exception to be able to capture a DS card (something worded like "capture a target dark side card.")  Without that, you are unable to capture a DS card that the LS player currently controls.

--

Erik Dahlman

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0