Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Exelor

Expanding large monsters for attack

6 posts in this topic

Hi,

 

I have read on old threads about moving large/huge monsters but am still left with one question. Is it allowed to expand a monster that is shrunk to one square mid move in order to attack even though this one square version is not yet adjacent to the target? This would save one movement point as when expanding you will be able to position your monster adjacent to the target.

 

I appreciate any feedback.

 

Cheers,

Kjetil

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

According to the Errata, you must be able to perform the action from the square you are in BEFORE you expand. (It's worded a little vague, but general consensus is that's what's meant by it)

 

So for a melee large monster, you could not move to 2 square away, expand so you are adjacent, then attack, and shrink again to continue moving.

 

You would have to move to be adjacent, expand from there, perform the attack, then shrink from any square to continue moving.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

According to the Errata, you must be able to perform the action from the square you are in BEFORE you expand. (It's worded a little vague, but general consensus is that's what's meant by it)

 

So for a melee large monster, you could not move to 2 square away, expand so you are adjacent, then attack, and shrink again to continue moving.

 

You would have to move to be adjacent, expand from there, perform the attack, then shrink from any square to continue moving.

 

Sorry, but I am not finding this information in the v1.3 errata, am I missing something or has this been removed?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It's right on the first page of the errata

Rulebook
Page 16, “Large Monsters”: Add, “When interrupting a large monster’s
movement to perform an action, the overlord must be able to declare the
action that the large monster will perform before placing the monster’s
figure on the map.”

They don't use the word expand here, but the meaning is the same.

Edited by BigBadUnshaved

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It's right on the first page of the errata

Rulebook

Page 16, “Large Monsters”: Add, “When interrupting a large monster’s

movement to perform an action, the overlord must be able to declare the

action that the large monster will perform before placing the monster’s

figure on the map.”

They don't use the word expand here, but the meaning is the same.

 

Cheers, I was looking under "Monsters" on page 4 :)

So the previous rulings regarding "0 point movement" is out of the window then?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So the previous rulings regarding "0 point movement" is out of the window then?

 

I believe so. I think these were unofficial (i.e. FFG Sez) rulings before that specific Errata had been implemented.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0