Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Dedalus

A humble beginning.

24 posts in this topic

So, finally I have some free time to beggin my LotR LCG journey.

I have to say, I have aquired a Core Set somewhere at the end of september 2013., and I have read and "learned" rules that follow Core Set, but, somehow there was not some free time available for me to start with play. I was freshly married and into moving to new home and at the same time pretty occupied with work mixed up with some other obligations coming my way. 

 

Today, I have ordered The Hunt for Gollum A.P. and together with Core Set it is making my current LotR LCG collection. I was wondering for some time what to get next, but since that I haven't actually played the game, it wasn't hard for me to choose. Because my hobby budget is pretty much low, the only two choices where mentioned Adventure Pack or Over Hill and Under Hill Deluxe Expansion. I have read several times a New Player Buying Guide from TftC, and it was clear to me that I have to start from beginning following the release order - just the same way that I did with Warhammer: Invasion LCG. Yeah, I guess I want to have it all with no matter how much time does it takes.

I will probably update my progress with the gameplay in this topic, hoping that I won't have much trouble with it. 

Finally, I am going in circles around the box - like cat around the mouse... It is time to go. The Road awaits me.

Dedalus

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Welcome aboard, Dedalus! And I hope you enjoy your adventures in middle earth as much as many of us here do. I daresay you found the right place to ask for advice/help should you struggle and I eagerly await your progress reports! Have fun!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi Dedalus, first of all: all the best for your marriage! I´m still married since 2007 and won´t miss it. I play all the way from the beginning at the moment. Though I have the expansion until Khazad-Dum^^. I do because I found (finaly) the QuestLog ( http://tools.fantasyflightgames.com/lotrquestlog/#/home ) where you can save all you´re scores and compare it with friends!

So don´t hesitate to retain all you fails and succsess there. Also you can add other player as friends to compare with you´re own progress! ( http://community.fantasyflightgames.com/index.php?/topic/96526-friends-search-for-quest-log-comparison/ )

 

So have much fun with the very good and intresting different Quests!

Edited by Legoland

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thank you for your kind words :D

 

"The Beacons are lit! Gondor calls for aid."

I will go very noobish with this one:

In a Resource phase - "Each player simultaneously adds 1 resource token to each of his heroes resource pools."

This affects only heroes - not allies?

Thank you guys in forward!

Dedalus

 

Edited by Dedalus

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Welcome, I'm new as well, hope to hear from you soon and compare notes! I'm in the process of ordering mine now! Have a great day and grats on marriage. I'll make 23 years this year!

The Cajun

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Once again, I need your help guys  ;) 

This time, I have two questions:

1. If a character is commited to a quest - can he be declared (and act) as a defender?

2. During a Combat phase - can I declare as a defender an Ally instead of Hero? 

Thank you in forward!

Dedalus

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Once again, I need your help guys  ;) 

This time, I have two questions:

1. If a character is commited to a quest - can he be declared (and act) as a defender?

2. During a Combat phase - can I declare as a defender an Ally instead of Hero? 

Thank you in forward!

Dedalus

 

1. No, not unless you have some way to ready them (i.e. Unexpected Courage). You have to exhaust a character (hero or ally) to quest, defend, or attack. So, usually a character is limited to one action per turn (outside cards that ready heroes/allies).

 

2. Of course! Any character (hero or ally) can quest/attack/defend. :)

Edited by Dain Ironfoot

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This was very quick answering  :D Thanks!

@Dain Ironfoot 

1. I have failed at this one - I didn't understood it right. So, at next game I won't make this mistake.
2. I did this one right somewhere at 4-5 round.  :( 

@Raven1015

I know this, thanks. Still, I was lucky and managed to defend every attack.

BUT, I have lost my first game. Not disappointed instead of how much angry I am at myself because I didn't care about some things, like:
- count every round,
- raise threat level for 1 at the start of new round,
- read every card text rules again and again, etc.
And, finally, I was playing with Tactics. Not best choice I know, but needed to start with something. Example from gameplay - I've lost Legolas in Mirkwood somewhere around 4th round, and at the same time Gimli was with 3 hit points and Thalin with 2.

Taking now a little break and starting a new game. 
I need a beer.


Dedalus

Edited by Dedalus

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This was very quick answering  :D Thanks!

@Dain Ironfoot 

1. I have failed at this one - I didn't understood it right. So, at next game I won't make this mistake.

2. I did this one right somewhere at 4-5 round.  :( 

@Raven1015

I know this, thanks. Still, I was lucky and managed to defend every attack.

BUT, I have lost my first game. Not disappointed instead of how much angry I am at myself because I didn't care about some things, like:

- count every round,

- raise threat level for 1 at the start of new round,

- read every card text rules again and again, etc.

And, finally, I was playing with Tactics. Not best choice I know, but needed to start with something. Example from gameplay - I've lost Legolas in Mirkwood somewhere around 4th round, and at the same time Gimli was with 3 hit points and Thalin with 2.

Taking now a little break and starting a new game. 

I need a beer.

Dedalus

 

start with the spirit, or leadership deck. they tend to have more success. :)

 

you might always want to check this out, if you haven't:

 

http://talesfromthecards.wordpress.com/2013/01/03/5-things-i-wish-i-wouldve-known-when-i-started-playing-lotr-lcg/

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

@Dain Ironfoot

And so I did. I've tried with Leadership deck and that was pretty much easy game without losing Heroes. 
My final score is 107 on Passage through Mirkwood scenario.
Although - I have 0 victory points and that is confusing me. I've searched through cards for victory card text and I haven't see any. 

Is this ok, or am I doing something wrong? - Again.

Dedalus

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

@Dain Ironfoot

And so I did. I've tried with Leadership deck and that was pretty much easy game without losing Heroes. 

My final score is 107 on Passage through Mirkwood scenario.

Although - I have 0 victory points and that is confusing me. I've searched through cards for victory card text and I haven't see any. 

Is this ok, or am I doing something wrong? - Again.

Dedalus

victory points are usually found on encounter cards (but sometimes player cards from later expansions). not every encounter deck has cards with victory points - but you will see some in later adventures.

 

i don't actually ever keep score - i think it's kinda silly - but some players do! :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Me, again.

In the Encounter phase - "The enemy with the highest engagement cost that is equal to or lower than this player’s threat level engages this player..."

Ok, I understand this.

But what does happen if engagement cost is higher than player's threat level?

Example:

I am in the 1st round on Passage Through Mirkwood, and quest setup throw Forest Spider (engagement cost 25) and Old Forest Road. After commiting a hero to a quest, encounter deck throw Hummerhorns (engagement cost 40).
My threat level is 29 (playing Leadership).

Thanks for help.

Dedalus

 

Edited by Dedalus

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If its engagement cost is higher, then it just stays in the staging area (unless you choose to use your 1 optional engagement to bring it down). This is nice, as it gives you a chance to snipe that Hummerhorns before it can engage you and deal its damage!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeah, that is really nice  :) Fighting Hummerhorns beastie is a huge bite in 1st round  :wacko: 

And, I have another one:

In the Quest phase: "if there is an active location, progress tokens are placed on that location until it is explored."

Ok, location (Old Forest Road) is still in the staging area, I didn't yet travel to location, so it's not active - progress tokens are going to a quest?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeah, that is really nice  :) Fighting Hummerhorns beastie is a huge bite in 1st round  :wacko: 

And, I have another one:

In the Quest phase: "if there is an active location, progress tokens are placed on that location until it is explored."

Ok, location (Old Forest Road) is still in the staging area, I didn't yet travel to location, so it's not active - progress tokens are going to a quest?

correct.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There are a couple of cards with victory points in passage through mirkwood. 1 is the hummerhorns and the other is that chieftain guy. There may be one more. But if you took all your cards from encounter deck with the symbols for passage through mirkwood, should be 3 different symbols, they should be in there. And the victory points will be printed on front of card saying- victory points 5, ext.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The question about victory points was related to my 2nd gameplay and calculation for final score (I've had 0 victory points and at that point didn't know is that ok).

In later games, I've noticed that Hummerhorns have Victory. card text, and also Hill Troll, Marsh Adder, Chieftan Ufthak, etc. ;)

Thanks for reply buddy :D

Edited by Dedalus

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Oh np Dedalus. Im new as well and have come across that as well so thought Id share the info. Sorry if I missed a post, i was unaware you had figured that out yet. Have a good day guys!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0