Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
player1809340

Milk of Shub-Niggurath or: And Otherworldly Beverage

14 posts in this topic

I know the wiki says there is no official ruling AND that it is /intended/ for use in a Street or Location but--just what DOES happen if you use this in an Otherworld?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Not so sure why "location" should be read as "OW area", though... Anyhoo, there are two different effects on the card:

 

a) move the monsters

b) reduce the Sanity to 0

 

I'd say a) cannot be done but b) will work anyway, so, welcome LiTaS (or devoured in a Yog game)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have to agree with Julia...there's absolutely no net benefit from doing so in an OW.  Tell the nice nurses at the Asylum you appreciate their help.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm of the opinion that it can't be done in the Other World: that the first portion regarding the relocation of monsters is a requirement. All that guides me though is the notion that the Black Goat items weren't carefully worded or thoroughly tested.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Tibs,

That's an understatement. But, I guess we have at least two ways of interpreting this card. To me, it doesn't read like a requirement as much as an action. There might be someone out here who interprets it to read "it calls all of a particular type to them" - Mi-Gos for Yuggoth, etc.. Now, that's thematic.

Cheers,

Joe

Edited by The Professor

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm of the opinion that it can't be done in the Other World: that the first portion regarding the relocation of monsters is a requirement. All that guides me though is the notion that the Black Goat items weren't carefully worded or thoroughly tested.

 

On your second sentence, I can't, but agree. Could you share why you believe the first part is a requirement? Just curious. It's the wording, or? By extension, what happens if you're in Arkham and there are no monsters around? Is the second part still triggered?

 

This said, I see only very few occasion where you could want to go insane on purpose (actually, the need to retire comes to mind, but almost nothing else)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Like I said, I actually went looking for an answer to this and the Wiki says, specifically, it's intended for use in Arkham, though there is no ruling to say that specifically in the rules as of yet.

 

My main thing was, essentially, I had a MS that resulted in blocking a lot of key gates in a game last night. I could use the Milk to move them all into an OW to clear them away OR I could try and fight my way through. In this instance, t'would have been a boon since I was playing with Hastur anyway, so LiSaT really wasn't scary.

 

So, I did the only thing I could do!

 

Used the Milk, moved them to an OW and prayed I could seal other locations and keep that one gate leading to that on OW from causing too many MS later on. XD

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Faust, apologies, but allow me to try to clarify this better. Why should "location" be read as "OW area" in this case? Forget about the wiki that it's absolutely non-official. FAQ is pretty clear at this point. On pag. 2 we read (emphasys mine):

 

Locations
“Location” is typically defined as the circular space represented in the neighborhoods (for example, the Woods or the General Store). In some cases, however, the word “location” is used but not meant to be restricted to these circular Arkham Locations. The following paragraphs outline usages of the word “location” which are not meant to be limited to just Arkham locations.

 

[...]

 

An investigator using the Carcosan Page [KiY] Unique Item may choose another investigator in any location, street area, or Other World area. Milk of Shub-Niggurath [bGotW] can be used in any street area or location, but not in an Other World area.

 

As you can see, the way MoSN can be used is clearly stated in the FAQ, proving the wiki to be wrong.

Edited by Julia

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Faust, apologies, but allow me to try to clarify this better. Why should "location" be read as "OW area" in this case? Forget about the wiki that it's absolutely non-official. FAQ is pretty clear at this point. On pag. 2 we read (emphasys mine):

 

Locations

“Location” is typically defined as the circular space represented in the neighborhoods (for example, the Woods or the General Store). In some cases, however, the word “location” is used but not meant to be restricted to these circular Arkham Locations. The following paragraphs outline usages of the word “location” which are not meant to be limited to just Arkham locations.

 

[...]

 

An investigator using the Carcosan Page [KiY] Unique Item may choose another investigator in any location, street area, or Other World area. Milk of Shub-Niggurath [bGotW] can be used in any street area or location, but not in an Other World area.

 

As you can see, the way MoSN can be used is clearly stated in the FAQ, proving the wiki to be wrong.

 

Ahem. Allow ME to clarify MY point.

 

I don't like losing. ;)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Absolutely it is! And don't get my wrong, I enjoy seeing someone get overwhelmed and torn apart as much as any sadistic Keeper, BUT it was late and Faust wanted to go to bed with a smile on his face! XD

 

But, now that it's been cleared up, if the situation arises, I'll have no excuse. I am contemplating getting a video camera to keep myself honest.

Julia likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Absolutely it is! And don't get my wrong, I enjoy seeing someone get overwhelmed and torn apart as much as any sadistic Keeper, BUT it was late and Faust wanted to go to bed with a smile on his face! XD

 

But, now that it's been cleared up, if the situation arises, I'll have no excuse. I am contemplating getting a video camera to keep myself honest.

 

Yes! And since you so blatantly cheated the poor game, from now on every win you record must be approved by a committee to be declared legal! ;)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes! And since you so blatantly cheated the poor game, from now on every win you record must be approved by a committee to be declared legal! ;)

 

 

Actually, yeah. I've admitted on here I fudge, it's why I don't post logs like Julia does. XD But hey, maybe if I video tape my games and post them on Youtube, I can become a web celebrity.

 

Come watch my videos on 'ThatGuyWhoCheats@AH.com' XDD

Julia likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0