Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
R22

Q: Heavy Laser Cannon + TL?

Recommended Posts

Q:

 

Fire a heavy laser cannon. Text reads: Immediately after rolling your attack dice, you must change all of your critical result to hit results.

 

But if you have a target lock, either your own or through a support ship like Kagi, could you then reroll a die and KEEP the critical--should it come up on the rerolled die?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
My best guess, as per the FAQ:

 

"Q: If a ship attacks with Heavy Laser Cannon,

can it modify attack dice to get a [C] result?

 

A: Yes. All [C] results on attack dice are immediately

changed to [H] results after they are first rolled, and

then the dice may be modified as normal."

 

If you interpret that strictly, you only change crits to hits after they are first rolled, which means that re-rolls would not have to be changed as per HLC. The question is, why would you want to?

Edited by WonderWAAAGH

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Say you roll 4 with HLC. You get 2 blanks, 1 hit, and 1 crit. HLC triggers turning the crit into a hit for 2 blanks and 2 hits.

 

Now, if you have a TL, can you roll those 2 blanks and keep the crits that possibly come up?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ah, I thought you meant re-rolling hits to see if you could get crits instead. Because, you know, that would be dumb and stuff.

Page 11 of the rulebook describes spending a target lock (and the subsequent dice re-roll) as a 'modification.' Paired with the FAQ ruling, which says that you can 'modify' dice to get a crit, I think you can safely get away with what you're describing.

Edited by WonderWAAAGH

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes, the only crits that care changed to hits are the first ones you roll. If you use target lock on the two blanks in your example and they both come up with crit results, you get to keep those. Same with other modifications. Put two Mercenary Copilots on a shuttle and at range 3, you get to change two hits to crits. :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Even though you re-roll with a target lock, doesn't the HLC text override the re-roll crits from a TL?

No. :)

 

As per the FAQ ( http://www.fantasyflightgames.com/ffg_content/x-wing/support/faq/X-Wing-FAQ.pdf ) on Page 6:

 

Q:
If a ship attacks with Heavy Laser Cannon, can it modify attack dice to get a Crit result?
A:
Yes. All Crit results on attack dice are immediately changed to Hit results after they are first rolled, and then the dice may be modified as normal

 

Hope this helps.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...