Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
gertat

Corb Polyborg vs Ambush

Recommended Posts

That may so that for the game to work you have play it that way but It's not based in any logic at all.

It doesnt make any sense

By your reasoning then you can play 2 unique card if you just play it first as a development then turn it over.

The Rulebook page 7

If a player has a copy of a unique card in play, he cannot play, take control of, or put in to play (via a card effect) another copy of that card.

Mayby me last point/argument falls on "take control of"

The other problem we have with the card is Corbs text Put into play.

Can you explain this text for me as the idiot I am.

Edited by gertat

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That may so that for the game to work you have play it that way but It's not based in any logic at all.

It doesnt make any sense

By your reasoning then you can play 2 unique card if you just play it first as a development then turn it over.

The Rulebook page 7

If a player has a copy of a unique card in play, he cannot play, take control of, or put in to play (via a card effect) another copy of that card.

Many me last point/argument falls on "take control of"

I already addressed that. When you flipped the card over to ambush with it (I think ambushing with unique units is Wood Elf only), the game will check if the ambushing unit can legally exist. If it can't it leaves play then, but it never enters play.

 

EDIT: It becomes an illegal situation when the ambush resolves.

 

EDIT 2: In case you've forgotten, you can ONLY ambush with cards that have the Ambush keyword on them. The only circumstances where you can ambush with a hero is if you have Ariel, Queen in the Woods in play.

Edited by Starke

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The hole pronlem comes from ambush with Ariel.

I cant make you see the problem so we will houserule this so that it works and stop pestering you with posts

Edited by gertat

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

But you sad that It's alread in play It's a development and therefore It's already in play

Yup, and then you turn that development back into a unit.

 

Actually, the only unique card that can ambush in the game is Drycha, if you have Ariel, Queen of the Woods in play. So this isn't exactly a common occurrence. (I thought the Wood Elves had a couple other heroes, but, no.)

 

So, especially if this is giving you trouble, don't worry about the uniqueness and legality there, these are things that will basically never come up.

 

But, yeah, the development is already in play.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This post is now 30 posts long and that is a bit amasing

Already in post 9 I said that Virgo didn't have to answer because we would wait on the next version of the Polish FAQ for the answer.

In a later post I admit It's a bit overthinking and the reasoning is a bit philosofic.

The post just kept coming and I wouldnt want be rude and dont explain what I mean by broken and so on.

And I do love a good discussion.

Thanks guys

Edited by gertat

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Bortom line that you all miss is A UNIT HAS TO ENTER PLAY SOMETIME

As the rules stand right now Corb is a broken card. No one has presented a valid reason that Corb work

 

 

Bottom line is, you're missing that Corb Polyborg does not prevent the named unit from entering play!! He prevents the named unit from being played or put into play. So once the named unit has entered play (as a development), Corb Polyborg has no saying to whatever is going to happen in the future with that (not still a) unit.

 

Look up the rules/FAQ to learn the differences between those 3 terms.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...