Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
HellishBoy1

Spending Clues and Eldritch tokens.

6 posts in this topic

I've been going over the rules pretty extensively and I want to assume that when a players turn comes he can spend Clues and Eldritch tokens on a Mystery card, if they have them. Is this considered an action, or can spend them and continue as normal with your two actions?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

When you resolve your encounter phase, in case there are no monsters (which are a compulsory encounter - at the end of which, unless specified on the monster chit, you're allowed to have a further encounter) you may choose two:

a) encounter the location by drawing a card from the corresponding deck (General or region-specific)

b) encounter the token on the location, following the specifics for each token (for example, if there is a clue token and you want to encounter the clue, you draw a card from the Research Encounters deck; if there is a Rumor token, you may encounter it, following the instructions on the Rumor, so, spending clues for removing eldritch token from the card, for example). Some mysteries instruct you to spend clues you gain through a clue-encounter: you move on a clue location, resolve the Research encounter, and, if you gain the clue, you may spend it immediately and put it on the Mystery.

Hope this helps!

Vala_Melkor and Taragashi like this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think the answer is if you succeed in getting the clue, you may either place it in your inventory or on the a mystery that requires it.  It is part of "getting" the clue, not a separate action. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Spending clue tokens is not considered one of your two actions in the action phase, no. Spending clue tokens is almost always part of some other action or encounter.

Julia likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It depends on what the card says.  Some mysteries (but generally Rumors) say to "spend a clue token", in which case clue tokens in your inventory work.  

 

If the card says something like "when you acquire the clue token, an investigator may place it on the card", requires the investigator to successfully acquire a NEW clue token from a research card.

 

Neither one, however, is an action in and of itself.

Edited by dvang

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0