Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
la1cajun

Question on missed attacks in battle

22 posts in this topic

Just a clarification on these.

 

1) I attack with melee and roll an X so I get a complete miss and cannot use surges or anything else I rolled?

 

2) I perform a ranged attack and don't get enough numbers to hit with range. So i miss the hit but I didn't roll an X. Can I still use surges and such on this matter or is it considered a miss as if I would have rolled an X? 

 

Thanks

 

The Cajun

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

FFG clarified (after going back and forth a bit) that if it's a Miss (regardless of how it's a miss), all other results on the dice are ignored.

Robin13 likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thats what I would think too. I was watching a play by play on you tube and they came to a point like this and actually came back to it and said the answer from all areas was vague and played it out as if the range attack, even though was a miss, because it wasnt an X that they could still use the surges. But they still seemed unsure cause the rule book was vague as well as answers from FFG. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As griton explained well, now the ruling is that all types of misses are treated the same way (which is the most simple way to do things, IMO).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If you miss any attack you cant spend surges.

The only exception of that is if you  miss a ranged attack cause you dont have enught range, then you could use surges to gain more range and dont miss the atack, but you cant use surges to recover fatigue for example.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If you miss any attack you cant spend surges.

The only exception of that is if you  miss a ranged attack cause you dont have enught range, then you could use surges to gain more range and dont miss the atack, but you cant use surges to recover fatigue for example.

That was the old ruling.

Now, if you lack range, even with the help of a surge, you may not use surges at all.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

If you miss any attack you cant spend surges.

The only exception of that is if you miss a ranged attack cause you dont have enught range, then you could use surges to gain more range and dont miss the atack, but you cant use surges to recover fatigue for example.

That was the old ruling.

Now, if you lack range, even with the help of a surge, you may not use surges at all.

What? Stupid ruling what is the point of ranged surge then? InRange is a Boolean (you have the range or you don't there is no 'more in range or less in range') so if you didn't have range you miss so you couldn't surge to make it up and if you did there is no need of it. DUMB

Edited by Lilikin

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

so just strait up, you miss, whether with an X or lack of range, you cant use surges and you miss the attack. Easiest way to remember like that. I dont have my game yet, its coming in tomorrow, but do they have a hero that lets you use surges for extra range as Lilikin was saying. In what instance could you use the surge for extra range if you cant use it if you dont roll enough range to start with and its a miss? Like I said, I dont have the game yet so IM not sure if equipment or heroes may have a range surge like that.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

If you miss any attack you cant spend surges.

The only exception of that is if you  miss a ranged attack cause you dont have enught range, then you could use surges to gain more range and dont miss the atack, but you cant use surges to recover fatigue for example.

That was the old ruling.

Now, if you lack range, even with the help of a surge, you may not use surges at all.

 

So you are telling me that Justin said that all surges that give extra range are worthless?

where can we found that "new" ruling?

Edited by Varikas

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

so just strait up, you miss, whether with an X or lack of range, you cant use surges and you miss the attack. Easiest way to remember like that. I dont have my game yet, its coming in tomorrow, but do they have a hero that lets you use surges for extra range as Lilikin was saying. In what instance could you use the surge for extra range if you cant use it if you dont roll enough range to start with and its a miss? Like I said, I dont have the game yet so IM not sure if equipment or heroes may have a range surge like that.

so just strait up, you miss, whether with an X or lack of range, you cant use surges and you miss the attack. Easiest way to remember like that. I dont have my game yet, its coming in tomorrow, but do they have a hero that lets you use surges for extra range as Lilikin was saying. In what instance could you use the surge for extra range if you cant use it if you dont roll enough range to start with and its a miss? Like I said, I dont have the game yet so IM not sure if equipment or heroes may have a range surge like that.

also goblin archers have the same ability. I would find this ridiculous if it were the case. I am still waiting to see the hard evidence.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

If you miss any attack you cant spend surges.

The only exception of that is if you  miss a ranged attack cause you dont have enught range, then you could use surges to gain more range and dont miss the atack, but you cant use surges to recover fatigue for example.

That was the old ruling.

Now, if you lack range, even with the help of a surge, you may not use surges at all.

 

If that's so, then why even have +Range as a surge ability at all? If you made range in the first place, there wouldn't be a point to using them, especially when most ranged attacks don't have a benefit for rolling range in excess of your target.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

 

If you miss any attack you cant spend surges.

The only exception of that is if you  miss a ranged attack cause you dont have enught range, then you could use surges to gain more range and dont miss the atack, but you cant use surges to recover fatigue for example.

That was the old ruling.

Now, if you lack range, even with the help of a surge, you may not use surges at all.

 

So you are telling me that Justin said that all surges that give extra range are worthless?

where can we found that "new" ruling?

 

Certainly not.

By saying "even with the help of a surge", I clearly explained that you can use a surge to get more range.

But if, "even with the help of" that "surge" you don't get enough range, your attack is a miss and you cannot use surges for other uses.

 

Here is the ruling, as indicated in the BGG wiki :

 

Q: Can you spend surges on a ranged "miss" to recover fatigue or activate other abilities?

A: If an attack misses, then no surge abilities can be spent. This means that an X, insufficient range, or lacking a surge to spend for "Shadow" causes an attack to miss. If by some means you convert a miss into a hit, then you are free to spend surges as normal.

http://boardgamegeek.com/wiki/page/Descent_Second_Edition_Unofficial_FAQ#toc3

 

Here is the thread where the debate occured :

http://boardgamegeek.com/article/12149251#12149251

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think basically what Robin intended is that if the range is 6, you roll 3 range, and can add 2 range from surges, then "even with the help of [those 2 range from] surges", it's still a miss, so you can't spend any surges.

Robin13 likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That was exactiliy what I said...you only can use surges to gain more range, no to recover fatigue or use other abilitiies...and he said that it was the "old" ruling...I think that he just didnt understand what I was saying and create some confusion with that answer, cause it seems like nobody understand him, but well, now all has been clarifyed ^_^

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

that makes total sense. If you have 2 surges and only need one to complete your range attack, can you still use that other surge for whatever you need it for?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

that makes total sense. If you have 2 surges and only need one to complete your range attack, can you still use that other surge for whatever you need it for?

Yes, you can use it to recover fatigue, move the targeted monster...all what you want ;)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That was exactiliy what I said...you only can use surges to gain more range, no to recover fatigue or use other abilitiies...and he said that it was the "old" ruling...I think that he just didnt understand what I was saying and create some confusion with that answer, cause it seems like nobody understand him, but well, now all has been clarifyed ^_^

Ah yes. I misread you. I read your "cant" as "can", probably because you did not put an apostrophe in the expression.

Sorry for the confusion.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Not sure where things are lying on what the understanding is, so I'll try to add clarification.

 

If you roll 3 surges and not enough range, but only need one of the surges to make range, you have 2 surges that CAN be spent on regaining fatigue, moving the monster, etc.

 

If you roll 2 surges and not enough range, and even spending those two surges won't get you enough range to hit the creature, it's considered a miss and no surges may be spent on anything; you can't regain fatigue, etc.

 

Hopefully that's a bit more clear.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Not sure where things are lying on what the understanding is, so I'll try to add clarification.

 

If you roll 3 surges and not enough range, but only need one of the surges to make range, you have 2 surges that CAN be spent on regaining fatigue, moving the monster, etc.

 

If you roll 2 surges and not enough range, and even spending those two surges won't get you enough range to hit the creature, it's considered a miss and no surges may be spent on anything; you can't regain fatigue, etc.

 

Hopefully that's a bit more clear.

If you make a ranged attack, and don't have enough range, you can use a surge (or more, but a surge possibility may not be used more than once) to increase your range - after what your weapon card says.

If the use of surge(s) still does not allow you to have enough range, your attack is a miss and you may not use other surges to remove fatigue or generate other effects.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0