Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Musha Shukou

Cursed to Blessed and Vice Versa

14 posts in this topic

Is there ever any situation where, if you're cursed or blessed, you just flip the card over to the other side instead of discarding it? In other words, can you ever go straight from being cursed to being blessed or vice versa, skipping the intermediary "normal" status?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I play it as you described only when it specifically states "you are IMMEDIATELY blessed". I think Rex Murphy's Personal Story says that. Otherwise, if it says only "you are cursed" or "you are blessed", if I already have the opposite card they cancel each other out, as the rule book says.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Tox,

 

     A strict reading on the rules however still wouldn't change Rex Murphy's status to Blessed if he were still Cursed at the time he Passes his Personal Story.  I've always played it that he finally (unless he's obtained a Bless earlier in the game) discards his Curse.

 

Cheers,

Joe

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Aye, agreed with Joe. Imagine "0" being without Blessings or Curses, "-1" as being "Cursed", "+1" as being "Blessed". Being blessed gives a +1, so that if you're actually at "-1" you raise to "0", if already at "0" you move to "+1". There are no effects giving you a "+2" or a "-2"

 

(not so sure it's clear what I'm saying...)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeah "immediate" is irrelevant here. Rex goes from "Cursed" to "Neutral."

And... there is one instance of a "flip" occurring: there's an OW card in the King in Yellow that specifies (rather sloppily) that "destinies reverse" or something and you're supposed to change to Blessed of you were Cursed, and vice-versa.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeah "immediate" is irrelevant here. Rex goes from "Cursed" to "Neutral."

And... there is one instance of a "flip" occurring: there's an OW card in the King in Yellow that specifies (rather sloppily) that "destinies reverse" or something and you're supposed to change to Blessed of you were Cursed, and vice-versa.

 

True, I forgot about that, thanks :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Julia,

 

     Clear, as always, my friend.

 

Tibs,

 

     Yes, good example of the singular time that one moves immediately from one status to the other.

 

Cheers,

Joe

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeah "immediate" is irrelevant here. Rex goes from "Cursed" to "Neutral."

And... there is one instance of a "flip" occurring: there's an OW card in the King in Yellow that specifies (rather sloppily) that "destinies reverse" or something and you're supposed to change to Blessed of you were Cursed, and vice-versa.

 

Yes, that encounter must work like that otherwise it would just make you lose your Blessing or Curse in both cases.

 

I'll start playing Rex as you described then, he's powerful enough as he is :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeah "immediate" is irrelevant here. Rex goes from "Cursed" to "Neutral."

And... there is one instance of a "flip" occurring: there's an OW card in the King in Yellow that specifies (rather sloppily) that "destinies reverse" or something and you're supposed to change to Blessed of you were Cursed, and vice-versa.

That's exactly what I was looking for. Thanks, Tibs!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just out of curiousity, if Rex fails his personal story, does that mean he simply can't become Blessed or that he cannot cease being Cursed by being Blessed?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I would say both. By that I mean you cannot get rid of the Curse condition by any encounters that allow you to be Blessed and also that you cannot aquire Blessed condition in any case.
Example:
Cursed Rex is having the following ecnouncter in the Science Building:
Knowing that you are engaged in God's work, Father Michael Blesses you.
In this case (and the same goes for non-Cursed Rex) he discards this encounter card with no further effect and keeps his Curse until he rolls 1 during his upkeep.

 

Edited: I think the same applies to other Investigators Blessing you in South Church.

Edited by ceridan13

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ceridan, Rex never rolls for Curses during Upkeep (it's stated under Family Curse on his sheet).

 

The Accepted Doom condition is kinda tricky. I talked about this with Avi a long time ago: in the last scenario of his League, you have all investigators starting with their PS failed. I got an OW encounter during turn 2 that Blessed Rex and I removed his curse. We talked about this, and we weren't able to find any proper answer to the topic because the wording is too sloppy.

 

In my view of the game, leaving an investigator permanently Cursed is too heavy, especially because it's very improbable that someone whould sacrifice ten Clues with Rex in order to have him passing his PS. So, I play that the failed condition of his PS implies he can still get rid of curses by buying blessings, but he can't buy a Blessing / be Blessed to actually "possess a Blessing card" (so, Cursed or "no blessings no curses" are ok; Blessed can never happen)

Edited by Julia

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ceridan, Rex never rolls for Curses during Upkeep (it's stated under Family Curse on his sheet).

Sorry for this, I don't have that expansion yet...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

Ceridan, Rex never rolls for Curses during Upkeep (it's stated under Family Curse on his sheet).

Sorry for this, I don't have that expansion yet...

 

 

No probs :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0