Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
saraswati

New player question on committing characters

4 posts in this topic

Hi I've tried the game a few times and might be doing something wrong, can someone clarify for me:

 

1.   There seems to be no "summoning sickness" for a character newly brought into play?  They can be committed right away.  (I understand the game is not supposed to be MTG, but looking for an analogy).    This seems to result in the first player generally getting three free success tokens because they bring out and committ a character first unopposed.   Am I missing something?   We have been assinging beginning factions at random, so I haven't tried all the types of decks, but it seems that first player gets a big advantage by being unopposed.  

 

2.  Are location cards just another type of support card which are permanent?   Is there any quality to a location card to differentiate it from another support card (other than it can be destroyed by cards which target location cards)?

 

Many thanks for any replies.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

1. First player skips her first story phase. From the rule book p. 8.

 

Important Exception: During the very first turn of the game, the 

starting player may only draw one card during his draw phase and 
must skip his entire story phase. This is known as the “first player 
penalty” and only applies to the starting player on the very first 
turn of the game.

 

2. No, locations are just a subtype of supports.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0