Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
HastAttack

Ser Preston Greenfield

6 posts in this topic

Hi

 

The new Ser Preston has:

Any Phase: Return a Kingsguard or Queensguard character you control to shadows. (Limit once per round.)
 

If I use his ability to return himself to shadows at the start of the plot phase and then bring him out of shadows later in the round, can I then trigger his ability again

 

I'm assuming that when he comes out of shadows, the previous triggered response is forgotten about

 

thanks

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No. The latest FAQ has a specific entry on cards with limits that use their own ability to leave play. The limit will still apply. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As dolous2k says, when a card is triggered from an out of play area (eg Lethal Counterattack) or its trigger causes it to leave play (eg Den of the Wolf, Preston Greenfield), the limit applies to all instances of that card by title, and not to the specific card. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Dang!

 

Is that limit only applicable to unqiue cards?

There are similar posibilities with Chain attachements, which are all limited

 

I thought that you could trigger a chain attachment response, then use some mechanism to return the chain to you hand, marshall it again and re-trigger ... the Chains are all Limit once per phase, not limited response ... so I assume the limit applies to the specific card - i.e. if you have 3 copies you can trigger 3 responses

 

If a (non-unique) card is removed from play and re-enters in the same phase, I was under the impression that the game "has no memory"

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The game has no memory about the state of that card (it is functionally a new card), but the limit in this case applies to all cards with the same title. You've probably always played it like this; take Price of War for instance - because it's triggered from out of play, the limit "1 per round" would be meaningless if it weren't for this. The 1/game limitation on Den of the Wolf would be just as meaningless. This really doesn't have anything to do with whether they're unique or not.

 

However, this doesn't affect the chains scenario at all; none of their effects are triggered from out of play OR, in triggering, cause themselves to leave play. If you could bounce a Valyrian steel link, you could keep using it.

Edited by -Istaril

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks

 

For chains you can use the event called Called to the Citadel during marshalling - great in combo with Forging the Chain plot card

 
Type: Event House: Neutral
Citadel.
Any Phase: Return a Maester character you control and all Chain attachments on that character to their owner's hand. Then, draw 1 card.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0