Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
No Hero

Prophet question

8 posts in this topic

In regards to the Prophet skill All-Seeing: the skill states that "when the insight token is discarded another hero gains the insight token". Do you think it could be read two ways? Either "a hero other than the Prophet" or "a hero other than the one whom the insight token was jsut discarded from"?

What do you think is the letter of the rule, and what do you think it's the spirit of it?

Moreover, Soothing Insight states that when a hero gains the insight token, they recover 1 health and i fatigue. But it states so in the second paragraph of the skill, which suggests me that the recovery ability is tied to the receiving of the token rather than the usage of Soothing Insight. In other words, does that ability trigger when the token is gained via means of All-Seeing? Seeing how Focused Insights works I'd be inclined to say yes.

 

A general question about the prophet now: how do you play it efficiently? It seems to me that out of the 4 healers it's the most fatigue intensive class, even more so than the Spiritspeaker who has fatigue recovery here and there. My Prophet so far has spent 3 experience but beyond having bought All-Seeing I don't see much in the way of its development; as I'm playing 2 heroes only I won't take Omniscience, and I think Grim Fate is too costly

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

What do you think is the letter of the rule, and what do you think it's the spirit of it?

I think the letter and the spirit of the rule is that a hero other than the one who just discarded the insight token gets it. Based on the rules of the English language, the hero who had the token before is the one being excluded by the term "another hero."

 

Moreover, Soothing Insight states that when a hero gains the insight token, they recover 1 health and i fatigue. But it states so in the second paragraph of the skill, which suggests me that the recovery ability is tied to the receiving of the token rather than the usage of Soothing Insight. In other words, does that ability trigger when the token is gained via means of All-Seeing? Seeing how Focused Insights works I'd be inclined to say yes.

My initial reaction was "no," but reading over the cards, I'm not so sure anymore. Probably worth asking FFG if the costs required to activate Soothing Insight were intended only to apply to handing out the insight token, and the other half of the card be "always on."

Edited by Steve-O

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

"all seeing" triggers the 1hp 1fatigue recovery from "soothing insight". As beta tester i can say this is intended to work this way.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Wonderful, then. Do you have some insight (soothing or not) as to who can gain the insight token when it's discarded? Steve-O is probably correct, I think

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Can a ko hero discard his insight token during his turn ?

No, he may not. However, the prophet can take the insight token from a KO hero to place elsewhere.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

"all seeing" triggers the 1hp 1fatigue recovery from "soothing insight". As beta tester i can say this is intended to work this way.

All the different card effects stack onto the insight token, correct?

 

Soothing Insight also states "A hero with the insight token may discard it during his turn to recover 1 HP."

So that would stack with Victory Fortold?  "Discard the insight token for that hero to roll an additional green power die on the attack."

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No, it would not. Victory foretold is not "when a hero discards the insight token, X happens". It's "discard it TO..." To prove it to yourself, replace the trigger (discard the insight token) with another trigger like "suffer 1 fatigue".

 

Soothing insight: A hero with the insight token may suffer 1 fatigue during his turn to recover 1 HP.

Victory Foretold: ...Suffer 1 fatigue for that hero to roll...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0