Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Neodarkside

Ashirians stun

4 posts in this topic

This question came up, I was the OL and a friend was playing Ashirian. She moved beside a group of 3 goblin archers, then stated that they could no longer perform any actions, her reasoning behind it was the card was misleading which explains stunned effect. It says on the card "Discard this card or token. This is the only action you may perform on your turn while you have this card or token." The group agreed with her saying that my goblins lost both actions and can only use the action to remove it, thus permalocking my goblins in place for the duration of the encounter. I argued that they use their first action to remove the stun, then it gives them back the ability to use their 2nd action since the card is now gone.

 

Was I right or were they right? If they were then Ashirian's hero power is way to OP as she sat beside the group of goblins the entire encounter and there was nothing I could do.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Stun only takes one action to be removed.

When removed, the card/token is no more there, so a second action can be made.

This is a very frequent question.

The rules section of Boardgamegeek's forum for Descent has a "FFG sez" thread: IIRC, it contains the answer about the stun condition.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This question came up, I was the OL and a friend was playing Ashirian. She moved beside a group of 3 goblin archers, then stated that they could no longer perform any actions, her reasoning behind it was the card was misleading which explains stunned effect. It says on the card "Discard this card or token. This is the only action you may perform on your turn while you have this card or token." The group agreed with her saying that my goblins lost both actions and can only use the action to remove it, thus permalocking my goblins in place for the duration of the encounter. I argued that they use their first action to remove the stun, then it gives them back the ability to use their 2nd action since the card is now gone.

 

Was I right or were they right? If they were then Ashirian's hero power is way to OP as she sat beside the group of goblins the entire encounter and there was nothing I could do.

 

Robin is correct.  Also, you should know that her stun aura only works on minion monsters, not Master monsters.  Your red goblin(or any red monster or Lieutenant for that matter) would not be stunned. 

Edited by C2K

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0