Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Cryypter

Documenting Research + Technology II (+Jol-Nar)

Recommended Posts

How does the Documenting Research political card from the Shards of the Throne expansion interact with the Technology II SC, since you can get 2 techs with the primary? Can you get either one for free? Also, does the Jol-Nar racial ability (which lets them activate the primary when they activate the secondary) mean you can get the tech the Jol-Nar get from the primary for free as well? I couldn't find any info on it in either the manuals or the FAQ, and even a google search turned up nothing.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I believe that you could get either tech from the primary for free.

 

I also believe thet it only counts the active player (The one that played Tech II) for the techs, and not Jol-Nar's ability.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Interesting set of questions. I definitely agree with Nehkrimah's response. Any techs acquired by the active player using the top half of the card fall under the category of "acquired by the primary" in my book. So, if someone receives 1 tech for free and a 2nd for cost, the rest of the folks could choose to get either one for free.

 

Jol-Nar thing, not so much.

 

When the Jol-Nar player is activating the secondary AND the primary, that player can get a free tech via the secondary if it copies one of the active player's choices. Then they can get use their special ability to do the primary madness, getting a 2nd one for free and finally a third for 8, less all their crazy discounts they usually have accumulated (e.g. Neural Computing, scientists on tech specialty planets, etc.).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...