Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
doctormungmung

Basic Insanity Question

6 posts in this topic

Apologies if this is old hat, but I couldn't find a search feature on the forum.  Can a character with willpower become insane if its text box is blanked by a card effect?  And in a similar vein, can a character with a terror icon become insane if a card effect reduces its terror icon count to zero?

 

Thanks.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No apologies needed.  It's always good to ask questions.  The answer to both of your questions is yes.

 

If a character with Willpower has their text box blanked or if they just lose their keywords, then they can be made to go insane.  If a character with Terror somehow loses all of their Terror icons, they can also go insane.

 

Note that there are a few cards that specifically state Terror icons don't protect characters from going insane (and I think there's at least 1 that allows you to make a character with Willpower go insane too), but these are rare.

 

EDIT:  I found 2 examples of these rare "exception to the rule" cards:

 

Hanyatl's 7:13

 

Mass Hysteria

 

By the way, the search function is at the very top of the page next to the FFG logo.  It's small and hard to find.

Edited by Yipe

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks!  The thing that had me hung up on those questions is the caveat in the rulebook:

 

Important Exception: Characters that have the terror icon or Willpower keyword can never (regardless of card effects) go insane for any reason.... <emphasis mine>

 

The examples I used in my questions are card effects, thus it seemed like the above bolded text would apply.  Although something in the FAQ implied the correct answer.  So I figured I'd just ask.

 

And thanks for pointing out the search feature.  I've not been having much luck finding those recently...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Card games are all about the exception to the rule, which is of course why they all have such big FAQs.

 

The part of the rulebook you highlighted is accurate.  Some cards can target a character to drive them insane, such as Victoria Glasser or Horrifying Daydreams.  The rules are stating that these effects can't work on (or even target) a character that is protected by Terror icons or the Willpower keyword - unless either that card or something in play specifically states those characters are no longer protected.  And as I wrote above, that's pretty rare.

 

By the way, if you have other rules questions or are just looking to chat about Cthulhu, I recommend hopping over to CardGameDB.  It's a great message board that was recently purchased by FFG so it's still in the family, so to speak.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Note that some card effects, instead of removing icons, make it so that icons (or skill) aren't counted at a story - like White Out. In this case, the character's icons otherwise are still there, so a character with a terror icon that is affected in this way still cannot (be chosen to) go insane if the terror struggle is lost.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0