• Announcements

    • FFG Fra

      Upcoming Changes to the Fantasy Flight Games Forums   01/20/2017

      Hello Fantasy Flight Games forum community!   This week, we will be making some important changes to your Fantasy Flight Games community account and the way that you log into the Fantasy Flight Games community forums and web store.   We have been working hard to integrate with the rest of the Asmodee group, and we are happy to announce a unified way to access all the websites and apps made by Fantasy Flight Games, Days of Wonder, and Asmodee!   For most users, nothing will change: you will still log into the Fantasy Flight Games forums using your current login name and password. Only the login user interface will be new.   For a few users, your credentials might be slightly changed. For example, this could happen to users who have both a Fantasy Flight Games and Days of Wonder account, or in the case of conflicting login names across platforms. When these situations occur, special e-mails will be sent to those users with an easy explanation about those changes and what steps to take next. For any of you receiving those e-mails, please make sure to follow the instructions carefully.   Remember, official communications from Fantasy Flight Games or Asmodee.Net will never ask for your password.   What are the benefits for you as a player? Using a unified account to access all of our web services and apps makes your life simpler. Over time, you will see new features emerging, such as keeping all of your friends under a single account, finding friends easily in apps with online play, or developing your personal profile by adding to your board games collection. These are just some of the features that you will see during the next year, once this important technical step is complete.   Important note: The migration of the forums to our new system will take place on Tuesday, January 24th. The forums will be offline for about two hours during that time. Once the migration is complete, older forum posts may look strange for up to 24 hours as we rebuild them in our new system.   We can’t wait to connect our board game communities and build bridges between universes, game systems, players, events, groups, game clubs, and more! This is only the first step in bringing people and games closer together. For more information, read our FAQ at https://asmodee.helpshift.com/a/asmodee-net/.   Best regards,   The Fantasy Flight Games Team
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
The Hunter

Dragon scales in the City

6 posts in this topic

During our anniversary gaming sesh, we had a debate about placing dragon scales on the City board.
If all the street spaces have scales, or you are on a shop space, can they be put on these spaces.
The argument is that you may not be able to encounter the shops if place cards are on these spaces even though I pointed out you can't encounter the shops if you draw dragon cards.

Also, if a rule or event causes cards to be removed from the board, does this also apply to other event cards.
An event was drawn in the Dragon Tower and the Dragon rulebook states that all cards and scales in the Tower at the end of a turn are discarded.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

During our anniversary gaming sesh, we had a debate about placing dragon scales on the City board.
If all the street spaces have scales, or you are on a shop space, can they be put on these spaces.
The argument is that you may not be able to encounter the shops if place cards are on these spaces even though I pointed out you can't encounter the shops if you draw dragon cards.

 

The scales may be placed on the shops like you said. If you encounter the Dragon Scale, you won't encounter the shop in any case; if you choose to encounter the space (not possible if the scale matches the current Dragon King) you will first encounter any faceup cards on the space, then the space (= the shop).

 

This is the standard rule about encountering non-draw card spaces!

 

Also, if a rule or event causes cards to be removed from the board, does this also apply to other event cards.
An event was drawn in the Dragon Tower and the Dragon rulebook states that all cards and scales in the Tower at the end of a turn are discarded.

 

Not sure to understand what's your question here. Events as well as any other card won't remain faceup inside the Dragon Tower. They're always discarded at the end of the turn. What do you mean with "apply to other event cards"? What's the meaning of "other"?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Thanks for the answers.
What I meant about other event cards is cards that last longer than one character's turn (like the Blizzard) and these remain on the board until the required number of turns/rounds have been fulfilled. A card like this was drawn in the Dragon Tower and we were unsure what to do with this at the end of the turn.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for the answers.
What I meant about other event cards is cards that last longer than one character's turn (like the Blizzard) and these remain on the board until the required number of turns/rounds have been fulfilled. A card like this was drawn in the Dragon Tower and we were unsure what to do with this at the end of the turn.

 

 

 

 

Ok, I got it now. The Blizzard has to stay on the board for two turns. If drawn on the Dragon Tower, it gets discarded and has no effect, actually.

Edited by The_Warlock

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

Thanks for the answers.
What I meant about other event cards is cards that last longer than one character's turn (like the Blizzard) and these remain on the board until the required number of turns/rounds have been fulfilled. A card like this was drawn in the Dragon Tower and we were unsure what to do with this at the end of the turn.

 

 

 

 

Ok, I got it now. The Blizzard has to stay on the board for two turns. If drawn on the Dragon Tower, it gets discarded and has no effect, actually.

 

 

 

But what if during one of the two rounds, the Fire Storm card is drawn in the same region as the Blizzard, or if Varthrax is the Dragon King? It's instructions does say to "discard all cards in this Region". And that if "Varthrax is the Dragon King, this Event affects every Region".

Edited by The Hunter

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

 

Thanks for the answers.
What I meant about other event cards is cards that last longer than one character's turn (like the Blizzard) and these remain on the board until the required number of turns/rounds have been fulfilled. A card like this was drawn in the Dragon Tower and we were unsure what to do with this at the end of the turn.

 

 

 

 

Ok, I got it now. The Blizzard has to stay on the board for two turns. If drawn on the Dragon Tower, it gets discarded and has no effect, actually.

 

 

 

But what if during one of the two rounds, the Fire Storm card is drawn in the same region as the Blizzard, or if Varthrax is the Dragon King? It's instructions does say to "discard all cards in this Region". And that if "Varthrax is the Dragon King, this Event affects every Region".

 

Events that last many rounds are left on the space where they are drawn until they expire. If all cards in the Region are discarded, they get discarded as well. They are Adventure cards, BTW they count as faceup cards on the space.

This was not explicit in the basic rulebook, but it's clearly written in the current FAQ, page 1.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Please sign in to comment

You will be able to leave a comment after signing in



Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0