Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
swampthing2

Draw their fire and stealth

9 posts in this topic

Three part question just to cover it all.

If you use Dtf to take a crit of a ship with stealth, does the ship your protecting keep its stealth?

Does the ship using Dtf lose its stealth?

Can you look at the crit before choosing to use Dtf like yoy can with Chewie crew?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The trigger for losing the stealth device is being "hit by an attack". The ship being shot at is the only one "hit" by the attack and it is hit regardless if some effect moves the actual damage some place else. So you do not lose stealth on the ship using DtF, but you do lose it on the ship that was the target of the attack.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

To clarify, the rule book p12 has the relevant explenation.

6. Compare Results

During this step, players compare their dice results

to determine whether the defender was hit.

To determine whether the defender was hit, compare

the number of [evade], [hit], and [crit] results in the common

area. For each [evade] result, cancel (remove) one [hit] or

[crit] result from the attack roll. All [hit] results must be

canceled before any [crit] results may be canceled.

If there is at least one uncanceled [hit] or [crit] result

remaining, the defender is considered hit (see page

13).

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I would say yes, you can look at the card befor deciding to use DtF or not. But I'm struggeling to find a defentive answere in the rules (or FAQ) for this.

 

Chewie's trigger is "When you are dealt a damage card", and acording to the rule book p 16 suffering damage (when you have no shileds) is being delat a damage card and in the case of a crit, that card is delat face up. So it is clear that Chewie can see the card befor using his ability (and it's in the FAQ as well).

 

The trigger for DtF though is "When a ship is hit by an attack", wihich comes befor suffering damage, but the effect is in the suffering damage step... So... I don't know.

 

I'm sure there are others here more adapt at enterpreting rules that can help out.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Can you look at the crit before choosing to use Dtf like yoy can with Chewie crew?

No you cannot.

 

With Dtf the uncancelled <crit> result gets assigned to a different ship. That happens prior to drawing a damage card. That even happens prior to checking if you draw a card at all or if the damage goes against a shield.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeah the card says...

 

When a friendly ship at Range 1 is hit by an attack, you may suffer 1 of the uncanceled [crit]transparent.png results instead of the target ship.

 

So you're shifting the die not the card to your ship.  That's why you put DtF on Luke with R2-D2, the crit strips a shield, that you regen next turn.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0