Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Daenarys

Please confirm : Red Viper F113

7 posts in this topic

Just got into a debate with regards the Red Viper F113.

 

Scenario :

 

Red Viper is knelt with two gold on him.

 

During the challenge phase 1 gold discarded from him to stand and then a subsequent gold is discard to raise the claim on the current challenge.  Is this correct ?

Edited by Daenarys

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Because that's not technically correct. You can only do this during a challenge because the card says to raise claim untilthe end of the current challengee.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Well i agree but the debate stemmed from the fact that the viper says 'until the end of the CURRENT challenge'.

 

Does this make sense

Edited by Daenarys

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This is my (expanded) view on how this works...

 

This is a two-part effect, obviously. The first part can be triggered at any point during the challenges phase to stand a kneeling Viper.

 

The second part is the one that's trickier due to its specific verbiage. The second part can only be triggered under the following conditions:

  • There is currently a challenge underway (whether you're participating or not - we have to consider Melee here)
  • The Viper WAS kneeling and you've used one token to stand him in the SAME window

Then, and only then, can you discard that second token to raise the claim value on any player's plot card (again, this must be the SAME window where you discarded the first token).

 

Regarding defense... If you're taking the chance, you could do this on defense and raise the attacker's claim from 2 to 3 because you have Red Vengeance in hand and 2 influence available. Low down dirty trick... but this is Martell we're talking about.

Edited by doulos2k
mdc273 likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This is my (expanded) view on how this works...

 

This is a two-part effect, obviously. The first part can be triggered at any point during the challenges phase to stand a kneeling Viper.

 

The second part is the one that's trickier due to its specific verbiage. The second part can only be triggered under the following conditions:

  • There is currently a challenge underway (whether you're participating or not - we have to consider Melee here)
  • The Viper WAS kneeling and you've used one token to stand him in the SAME window

Then, and only then, can you discard that second token to raise the claim value on any player's plot card (again, this must be the SAME window where you discarded the first token).

 

Regarding defense... If you're taking the chance, you could do this on defense and raise the attacker's claim from 2 to 3 because you have Red Vengeance in hand and 2 influence available. Low down dirty trick... but this is Martell we're talking about.

 

 

PERFECT answer, thanks very much. This has really helped

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0