Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Shaadea

clarification on combat phase/resolution

4 posts in this topic

Hi, I'm quite new to the game, and I think I got all the rules right. Only the combat phase leaves some question marks.

 

Here's what I read from the rules:

 

1. Attacker declares target - clear

 

2. Roll attack dice - also clear

 

3. Modify attack dice - ok here starts the fun stuff. The rules state that if both sides want to modify the result then the defender have to go first. So if I have Sensor jammer for example I have to decide if I want to use it, and then the attacker can choose to use an available focus token to change it back to an hit. Now what about abilities like "Elusiveness"? Let's say the attacker rolls his attack and scores no hits. I don't want him to reroll anything of course. Let's assume he attacks with a concussion missile that allows him to change one blank into an hit, or what if he rolled no hits but a single focus and he still has his focus token? Once I passed as defender and decided not to use "elusiveness" (or similar abilities/effects) I'm settled with that decision, right? I can't come back and have him reroll after he modified the result?!

Just want to make sure. "Elusiveness" is not very good for what it costs with that procedure :)

 

4. Roll defense dice - clear

 

5. Modify defense dice - mostly same procedure/rule as with attack dice, only that attacker goes first now

 

6. Compare results - clear

 

7. Deal damage - clear

 

What about Han's ability that states that he may reroll at any time (even during step 5 - 6)?

 

Thanks

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

What about Han's ability that states that he may reroll at any time (even during step 5 - 6)?

 

Thanks

 

 

Han's ability allow him to modify dice "when attacking", but all abilities that modify attack dice, including Han's, must be used on the "Step 3: Modify attack dice" in the attack sequence.

 

Except for that, you got everything right. And yes, 'Elusiveness' is regarded as one of the weakest EPT out there.

Edited by Jehan Menasis

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I can't come back and have him reroll after he modified the result?!

Right. The attacker needs to give you a chance to modify the dice, so he can't just start doing it then tell you it's too late.

But once you have passed or at least don't stop him from starting to modify the dice, your chance is gone.

Also yes you're right Elusiveness isn't considered a very good EPT.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0