Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
No Hero

Are you "within 3 spaces" of yourself?

6 posts in this topic

Some skills or heroic abilities/feats specify that an ability affecting heroes within 3 spaces of yourself includes you, as an addendum, ie Alvric's ability and feat or the Spiritspeaker's Healing Rain.

 

Some skills or abilities/feats, otoh, omit this addendum, ie the Spiritspeaker's Tempest or the second part on the Champion's Inspiring Presence

 

Is it a simple omission in the second case, or am I meant to think that skills worded like that aren't benefitting yourself?

 

Related question: is Grisom in line of sight of himself for the purpose of his feat?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes. It was ruled unofficially(but from Justin Kemppainen) on BGG that breaking the rune skill would target the rune master and that skill says it requires line of sight.

So if the attack targets everything up to 3 spaces in your line of sight.

The attack targets the caster also.

The yes, you are in your own line of sight.

Inspiring presence says "including yourself)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Inspiring presence says "including yourself)

He was referring to the second half, which doesn't include that bit.

 

But yes, you are always "within X spaces" of yourself. (But you are not adjacent to yourself, which refers to exactly 1 space away)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks to you both

So wait, a runemaster risks killing himself with Break the Rune?

And I thought it was subpar before!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So wait, a runemaster risks killing himself with Break the Rune?

 

FFG has said that technically, yes, that is the way it is written. They are looking at the possibility of an errata, but so far they haven't felt that it's necessarily underpowered enough to justify one.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Some skills or heroic abilities/feats specify that an ability affecting heroes within 3 spaces of yourself includes you, as an addendum, ie Alvric's ability and feat or the Spiritspeaker's Healing Rain.

 

Some skills or abilities/feats, otoh, omit this addendum, ie the Spiritspeaker's Tempest or the second part on the Champion's Inspiring Presence

 

Is it a simple omission in the second case, or am I meant to think that skills worded like that aren't benefitting yourself?

 

Related question: is Grisom in line of sight of himself for the purpose of his feat?

 

If you're not within 3 spaces of yourself, I suggest you call for a healer :-)

griton and No Hero like this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0