Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Emirikol

Tradecraft: Very simple rules

7 posts in this topic

I was standing in the shower thinkin'....

 

Tradecraft:  Create items at 30% of normal cost with a successful check.  For time to create, use your head (or do a web search).  Comet means superior item. 2 banes means poor quality. Chaos star means it was ruined (money lost).

 

 

sound good?

willmanx likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi Emirikol!

 

I still lurk the forums waiting for some good news regarding warhammer  :P

 

How will you resolve a Tradecraft roll where the dice outcome gives you at least one net success, one comet, two banes and a chaos star?

Edited by Yepesnopes
Emirikol likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You mean a superiorly-poor quality item that breaks on first use?  yea that :)  It's warhammer, so always round down :)

 

jh

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The combination of Comet and Chaos Star is allways tricky. I usually go with the Chaos Star snd Comet canceling each other out. The other way I can see going is that he created a superior item, but there were unforseen costs and the item was allmost(or exactly) as expensive to produce as just buying it.

Edited by Ralzar
willmanx likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

How will you resolve a Tradecraft roll where the dice outcome gives you at least one net success, one comet, two banes and a chaos star?

Well the comet and chaos star cancel out, which mean sthat you produce a poor quality item that costs 30% of the cost. Simple

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

 

How will you resolve a Tradecraft roll where the dice outcome gives you at least one net success, one comet, two banes and a chaos star?

Well the comet and chaos star cancel out, which mean sthat you produce a poor quality item that costs 30% of the cost. Simple

 

 

I prefer the poor superiour quality item that breaks just as you shout EUREKA!

Edited by Gallows

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

How will you resolve a Tradecraft roll where the dice outcome gives you at least one net success, one comet, two banes and a chaos star?

 

I believe that in Hero's Call FFG suggests that the GM can use chaos stars as crossed swords. By that rule the GM could use the chaos star to cancel the success and the player would have to use the comet as a hammmer, so the result would be 1 hammer, 2 banes.

 

For narrative purposes this could mean that the character was doing a great job, almost creating a superior item, but at the last instant something went really wrong and it came out a poor quality item instead.

 

I often use chaos stars as crossed swords (or banes, whichever is worst for the character), it gives the chaos stars more versatility and puts them more on equal terms with the comets.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0