Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Nickpes

Flight to the ford question

10 posts in this topic

From what i understand, even if not on campaign mode i have to create a burden deck. All of these cards have surge, but does this surge comes from the burden deck? I assume not, i believe it comes from encounter deck, but i would like the clarification in order to play it

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Well if you did surge from the Burden deck and all of the cards had surge then you would strip the deck the first time you had to reveal a burden right? I played the surge from the Event deck.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Surge applies only if the card was revealed during setup or staging step and it makes you reveal additional card from encounter deck. You also don't reveal card from surge when traveling to last bridge or from similar effect outside staging step.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Surge applies only if the card was revealed during setup or staging step and it makes you reveal additional card from encounter deck. You also don't reveal card from surge when traveling to last bridge or from similar effect outside staging step.

wasnt this errated as different in the recent FAQ so that it triggered any time it is revealed from the encounter deck?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The Surge on the Burden cards applies to the Encounter deck, since you are told to shuffle the Burden cards into the encounter deck and when you reveal them during staging, you are meant to draw another card from the encounter deck. Like Bullroarer Took said you'd finish the entire burden deck in one turn if it were they other way around.

Edited by Djenni

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Actually, the way the rules are written, the "surge" would not trigger at all, from either deck. According to the FAQ entry and original rulebook, "surge" resolves when the card is revealed from the encounter deck. Since the burden cards are being revealed from their own deck, and not the encounter deck, then the surge won't trigger. The reason they have surge on them is that they can get shuffled into the encounter deck for this quest and/or future quests, and the surge will activate when they are revealed from the encounter deck. This one definitely made me pause a bit and have to look up all the associated rules before it became clear.

Edited by Raven1015

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Actually, the way the rules are written, the "surge" would not trigger at all, from either deck. According to the FAQ entry and original rulebook, "surge" resolves when the card is revealed from the encounter deck. 

 

I think the only card that reveals a burden directly from the burden deck is The Last Bridge.  All other effects shuffle them into the deck as you mentioned.

 

The Last Bridge uses this language "resolve that card as if it were just revealed from the encounter deck."  Surge would trigger, then.  

Edited by GrandSpleen

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

Actually, the way the rules are written, the "surge" would not trigger at all, from either deck. According to the FAQ entry and original rulebook, "surge" resolves when the card is revealed from the encounter deck. 

 

I think the only card that reveals a burden directly from the burden deck is The Last Bridge.  All other effects shuffle them into the deck as you mentioned.

 

The Last Bridge uses this language "resolve that card as if it were just revealed from the encounter deck."  Surge would trigger, then.  

 

 

You're completely right. For some reason, I thought I remembered there being cards that actually reveal burdens from the burden deck, but that is not the case. I might have been thinking of the discard pile issue, where cards with surge revealed from the discard pile don't trigger the keyword.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0