Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Drighton

Alternate Baltar and "You are a Cylon"

4 posts in this topic

We're about to start a game with Daybreak (all the expansions actually) and have a question about Balternate: 

 

Does the restriction prevent him from using the Cylon action at all, or does that make him an exception to the "If you are not in the Brig," part of the Cylon action?

 

My thinking: Balternate cannot use the action unless in the Brig, thus cannot reveal himself unless in the brig. However, since the second half of the Cylon action cannot be used in the brig, and he can only use the Cylon action in the brig, the result is Balternate can never use the second half.

 

My brother: Balternate's "unless in the brig" superscedes the "If you are not in the brig," requirement and therefore switches his restriction: He is only able to use the second half while in the Brig.

 

We've got some time before the game will begin, so hopefully we can sort it out.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

+1 to your thinking.

 

Basically whilst Baltar is hanging around the usual human areas the 'Action' text ability on his card is blank to him/unavailable to him.

 

When he is in the brig he *can* then use it but then he uses it in full as detailed including any 'must not be in the brig' clauses.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

http://boardgamegeek.com/wiki/page/Battlestar_Galactica_FAQ

 

Q: Can alternate Baltar reveal outside the Brig?
A: (multiple threads) No. He cannot use an action on a Cylon loyalty card unless he is in the Brig. The Cylon loyalty cards all say "Action: Reveal this card. If you are not in the Brig..." While the rulebook may be slightly unspecific about revealing, clearly revealing means that you use the action on a Cylon loyalty card. Baltar cannot do that unless he is in the Brig, and so he can only reveal while in the Brig (and he does not get to do his reveal power).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0