Sign in to follow this  
CaptainBoxman

New guy list advice!

Hey guys, I'm brand brand new to the X-Wing miniature game. I'm going to pick the core set up at the weekend, but I'm already fairly confident I'll really enjoy it.

Therefore, I'd like to ask about general game meta that I wont have heard about yet, sensible or effective Rebel lists and unit uses, upgrades, pilots and tactics

Learn me please!

Here are a few squads that I have found varying degrees of success with for the rebels.

100 points

24 points
Red Squadron Pilot
R2 Astromech
25 points
Green Squadron Pilot
Push the Limit, Stealth Device
28 points
Blue Squadron Pilot
Advanced Sensors, Ion Cannon
23 points
Gold Squadron Pilot
Ion Cannon Turret

or

99 points

57 points
Han Solo
Marksmanship, Mercenary Copilot, Gunner, Millennium Falcon
21 points
Rookie Pilot #1

21 points
Rookie Pilot #2

or

100 points

33 points
Wedge Antilles
R2 Astromech, Push the Limit
36 points
Luke Skywalker
R2-D2, Shield Upgrade
31 points
Biggs Darklighter
R2-F2, Stealth Device

All of these are different approaches to the rebels.  The first is kind of a swarm (you can get a little closer to a swarm with a ton of a-wings, but I have found that this performs better).  The second is a variation on the famous Han Shoots First (HSF) which is very forgiving.  The last, if you keep biggs near the back so he's only drawing a couple of shots each turn, allows luke and wedge to deal some serious damage.

Here are some Imperial options:

100 points

21 points
Howlrunner
Stealth Device
17 points
Mauler Mithel

16 points
Backstabber

16 points
Dark Curse

15 points
Night Beast

15 points
Winged Gundark

or, the really swarmy times, with a few extra points for upgrades or better pilots

96 points

12 points
Academy Pilot #1

12 points
Academy Pilot #2

12 points
Academy Pilot #3

12 points
Academy Pilot #4

12 points
Academy Pilot #5

12 points
Academy Pilot #6

12 points
Academy Pilot #7

12 points
Academy Pilot #8