Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Chris Maes

Critical Hit "Actions"

10 posts in this topic

This is probably a stupid question or has been asked before but since there is no "search" feature on this forum, I have no way of knowing...

 

In a friendly game, recently, one player received a faceup Damage card (Critical Hit):

 

STRUCTURAL DAMAGE

Ship

Reduce your agility value by 1 (to a minimum of "0").

 

Action: Roll 1 attack die.  On a * (Hit) result, flip this card facedown.

 

My question(s): What, exactly does "Action" mean, in this case? 

 

Does it mean that immediately upon drawing this damage card, you roll the attack die as directed and if a "hit" is rolled, the card is flipped facedown, effectively becoming a "normal" damage card?

 

OR

 

Does it mean that the effects of this faceup card (Critical Hit) can be turned into a facedown damage card by spending an "Action"?

 

Chris

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It means that the ship gains the action as listed on the critical hit card (there are a few of them). It doesn't happen immediately but takes the ship's action to use. This works just like upgrade cards that give you actions (like Marksmanship for example).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So...

 

The ship effectively gains a new "Action", that when utilized, will allow the player to flip the card facedown, converting it to normal damage.  The critical hit "text" remains in effect until such time as that player uses an action to "repair" the special damage effects.  Do I have it straight?

 

And Thanks, Jehan, for pointing out my FAIL at observation skills Re: the "Search" feature. :D

 

Chris

DraconPyrothayan likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So...

 

The ship effectively gains a new "Action", that when utilized, will allow the player to flip the card facedown, converting it to normal damage.  The critical hit "text" remains in effect until such time as that player uses an action to "repair" the special damage effects.  Do I have it straight?

 

And Thanks, Jehan, for pointing out my FAIL at observation skills Re: the "Search" feature. :D

 

Chris

 

That is correct, sir. Good hunting.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Is it possible to use a focus token to change the result of that dice ?

No, the only time you can spend focus to alter a dice is during combat. During either the Modify Attack Dice or Modify Defense Dice phases.

Or if a card says you can, like Blaster Turret letting you spend one to fire the blaster.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

it would probably say so.

Yeah either way you look at it, it's the same thing.

In X-Wing you're told when you can do things. So for the most part, if it doesn't say you can do it, then you are best off assuming you can't.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0