Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
swampthing2

please settle an argument over vet in

8 posts in this topic

My friend thinks if let's say turr has VI then he sets up as a 9 at the start of the game.

I say it only takes effect once the ship is in play.

Thx

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I concur. Your friend is right.

 

Upgrades are part form the ship, for all effects, the very moment they are selected and equipped in the 'gather forces step'.

 

Ships are not 'off' and then 'turn on' when the 1st turn is about to begin. Any upgrades, titles, powers and synergies operate the moment they are chosen for the ship.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Look at it this way; Slave-1 title.  If upgrades didn't take effect until after the game began, how would you ever add a torpedo to your Firespray build?  It has to take effect the second you add it to your build or it will be completely useless.  Sets at least some strong precedent that various upgrades all take effect the moment they're added to your build.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

To end the discussion (if it's not already ended), this is mentioned in the newest faq.

 

You should consider VI as changing the pilot skill number printed on the ship card, so your friend is right.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

To end the discussion (if it's not already ended), this is mentioned in the newest faq.

 

You should consider VI as changing the pilot skill number printed on the ship card, so your friend is right.

I hate to reopen a settled topic, but the FAQ doesn't actually address this issue.

 

The question doesn't relate to what Veteran Instincts does, but rather when it does it.  The rules can be read such that upgrades don't become active until after ships have been set up, in which case Veteran Instincts doesn't change the PS until after setup.

 

But as several people pointed out above, when we hashed this out we realized that upgrades must be effective at all times - even during the build process, because otherwise cards like Slave 1 or the new Royal Guard TIE titles don't work at all.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Well, 'printed on the card' must mean that the value is there all along, so I believe it does address the issue.

 

At any rate, asked and answered, sorry for bumping an old thread.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0