Sign in to follow this  
Jaxom08

Question from a Newbie

I just started playing this wonderful game a little while ago and I have been picking up ships and such when I can, Thus far I have 4 Tie Fighters,1 Interceptor,2 X-wings,1 A-wing, a Firesprey and The Falcon with a B-wing to be delivered today......I have the 2nd xwing and the 2 Tie Fighters from buying a second core set.....

My question is where should I go from here? I kinda want at least 2 of all the fighters/fighter bombers ( a,y,x, tie advenced,etc....).

I only play with 1 friend and my wife at the time if that matters at all.

Any input is appreciated!

Many are going 2 of each with the exception of basic Ties and Interceptors for the imperials and Xwings for the rebels.  Many 3 xwing builds and tie swarms of 5-8 ships.

Buy what you like to play if your group is that small.  You'll have fun and that's what matters.  If you start going to leagues and tournaments you can still compete with these lists and as you get better (and win) your collection can grow that way too.

I'd highly recomend the Imperial Aces set that's due out sometime yet this year. 2 Interceptors with new pilots and options.

Typically you'll never go wrong having 4 of most fighters, with the following exceptions.

The 8 Tie Fighter swarm is fairly popular. The 7 Tie swarm tends to do better but both are fun.

There is generally speaking little reason to have more then 1 Tie Advanced. The case could be made for 3 of them. But unless your really, really love them, 1 is enough.

Some people will do 4 HWK's but myself I'd sugest sticking with 1. I'd say 2 or 3 of them is really not worth it. You'll either use 1 for support or try to build a list out of them.

For the big ships, like the Falcon... I only have 1 of each so far, and don't really plan on getting more. The 3 Firespray list is pretty good, but myself I wouldn't throw that much cash at 1 list.