Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Polkadot

What is the effect of flying units on fortification markers?

4 posts in this topic

When a flying unit is attacking a fortication the rules state that the border is treated as if it were breached.

 

For a normal fortifcation this is simple, however the rules for for breaching a fortication marker are different.

 

Is the breach treated as if the following applies "When an area fortified by a fortification marker is breached,remove the marker; that fortification’s effects on all its border
segments are nullified. No breach tokens are placed."?

 

Or is the damage reduced by 1 as per breaching a normal fortification?

 

Thank you

Edited by Polkadot

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi. Thanks for the reply. 

 

You agree with my opponent! I'll explain why I disagree...I'd be grateful for more views.

 

When a fortification marker is breached the following applies (a)

 

(a) "When an area fortified by a fortification marker is breached, remove the marker; that fortification’s effects on all its border segments are nullified. No breach tokens are placed."

 

So as I see it, when the thunderhawks attack a fortification marker you treat the attack on the border as a breach...therefore you treat it as specified in (a) but without actually removing the marker. 

 

Does anyone know if these questions ever get on the FAQ? 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi all - the "opponent" here  :)

 

I would view the outcome as a reduction of 1 damage because:

  • When a temporary fortification/marker is "breached" by a bombardment etc - it's not actually breached, it's destroyed.
  • Therefore the "effects on all its border segments are nullified" line is referring to its destroyed state, not its breached state.
  • So when under attack from THs and not destroyed/removed, but treated as breached - there's no reason to suppose that state is any different to a permanant fort's breached state.

Hope that makes sense.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0