Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
mattinthehat88

Clarification for new player

Recommended Posts

Hi,

Ive recently picked up the core game and a few expansions and have been playing with my other half. As we dont know of any other players in the area to point out our mistakes I was hoping you guys could answer/clarify a few things for us:

 

1- Do upgrade cards last through out the game or are they single use  per game for example r2d2, adrenalin, proton torpedoes, marksmanship, determination.

 

2- When using the tie bomber and rolling for damage on ships within range 1, does this include rolling for damage on the bomber itself?

 

3- Can secondary weapons be used each turn?

 

4- How does using the target lock on primary weapons differ from using it on secondary weapons?

 

5- Does dropping bombs count as its secondary weapon?

 

6 and finally, critical damage cards, if the damage reduces either your agility or pilot skill does this last for the rest of the game? and, the action 'roll 1 attack die, on a hit result flip this card face down, is this done the same round, or is it done each round and on the score of a hit the effect on pilot skill or agility is nullified?

 

Thanks very much in advance, it really is apprechiated.

Cheers

Mattinthehat

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

1. read the card, each reveals whether it is one use or not. A general rule is missiles/bombs are one use only.

2. I assume you mean dropping a bomb?

3. Secondary weapons which are not missiles/torpedos/bombs can be used more than once usually

4. No difference, unless the secondary weapons requires the target lock be spent to fire the weapon.... in which case you no longer have a target lock when you roll the dice

5. No (edit)

6. Actions are always performed after you move each model (unless you have the one card that allows it to happen before movement). So rather than getting a focus or target lock you can do what it says on the card... if you don't then the damage continues to limit you.

Edited by Cerealthief

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi,

Ive recently picked up the core game and a few expansions and have been playing with my other half. As we dont know of any other players in the area to point out our mistakes I was hoping you guys could answer/clarify a few things for us:

 

1- Do upgrade cards last through out the game or are they single use  per game for example r2d2, adrenalin, proton torpedoes, marksmanship, determination.

 

 

2- When using the tie bomber and rolling for damage on ships within range 1, does this include rolling for damage on the bomber itself?

 

3- Can secondary weapons be used each turn?

 

4- How does using the target lock on primary weapons differ from using it on secondary weapons?

 

5- Does dropping bombs count as its secondary weapon?

 

6 and finally, critical damage cards, if the damage reduces either your agility or pilot skill does this last for the rest of the game? and, the action 'roll 1 attack die, on a hit result flip this card face down, is this done the same round, or is it done each round and on the score of a hit the effect on pilot skill or agility is nullified?

 

Thanks very much in advance, it really is apprechiated.

Cheers

Mattinthehat

 

A couple of clarifications to the answer given above:

 

  1. Unless the card says "Discard" it is multi use, so basically single use goes for Missiles, Torpedos and Bombs/Mines/Seismic Charges, but also for some upgrade cards like Adrenalin Rush. But the card texts are pretty clear
  2. As Cerialthief said I also assume you mean Proton Bomb and/or Seismic Charge. If that is the question then yes, ALL ships within Range 1 gets hit, but you don't roll for it. Same goes for Assault Missiles, they automatically give 1 "Splash" Damage to ships within Range 1 IF the Defending Ship gets hit by the Attack
  3. Turrets, Cannons and other that doesn't say "Discard" can be used in each round provided that the target is within the wepons range and arch
  4. TL is necessary for launching Secondary Wepons in the Missile/Torpedo categories (unless you have Deadeye), in which case you may spend a Focus instead. The exception being Homing Missiles which states that you must discard the card itself to launch the Homing Missiles, but you may then use the TL for reroll the Attack dice. If you use TL with the primary weapon it can "only" be used for rerolls
  5. NO, Bombs/Charges/Mines are not strictly speaking Secondary Weapons

Can't be answered straight out, for some crits the effect is lasting and cannot be removed (ie. Damaged Cockpit, Damaged Engine, Injured Pilot, Minor Hull Breach Stunned Pilot), but for some you may, IF you can perform an Action, roll as an Action or simply use an Action to flip the Card, but that is also stated in the Crit Damage Text. You might find this pdf document handy for reference: https://www.dropbox.com/s/x6z86x179hz9hqr/Damage%20Deck.pdf

Hope that helps

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Some examples of cards that discard. If it doesn't say that it stays in play.

 

hvxfKII.pngIaRTKAi.pngFe4mNRa.png

 

If a card says "Attack (Target Lock)" then you need a target lock on the ship to use it. If it says "Spend your target lock" then you need to discard your target lock to shoot and can not use it for rerolls.

 

Also, bombs are never secondary weapons. They don't get range modifications or rerolls and are not affected by the Munitions Failure damage card.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...