Jump to content
bogi_khaosa

Is Crippling cumulative?

Recommended Posts

No.

p149:

 

 

 

When a target suffers at least one wound from this

weapon they count as being “crippled” for the remainder of

the encounter or until healed of all Damage.

 

If a crippled character takes more than a Half Action on their turn, they

suffer Rending Damage equal to the number in parenthesis

(X). This Damage is not reduced by armour or Toughness.

 

 

However, if the target was hit and wounded by a Crippling (1) and a Crippling (4) weapon, I would apply the Crippled (4) effect.

Edited by Keffisch

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Me again, necroing my own thread.

 

What if it's two different weapons?

 

I have a character with a pair of Legacy swords with Legacy of Pain (= they each have Crippling (1)).

 

What happens if he hits a target with one, and then the other?

 

I am leaning toward Crippling (1) even if both hit (especially taking into account the post above this one) but am not sure.

Edited by bogi_khaosa

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

He takes damage equal to the number in the parens, as per quote from Keffisch.  The number in parentheses for first weapon is one, and the number in parentheses for the second weapon is one, so one.  To rephrase Keffisch:

 

 

However, if the target was hit and wounded by a Crippling (1) and a Crippling (1) weapon, I would apply the Crippled (1) effect.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

OK, so the first weapoin hits and applies Crippling (1); the second hits and applies Crippling (1). Since Crippling (1) is already in effect when the second weapon hits, nothing changes.

Edited by bogi_khaosa

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That's how I think it reads.  You could encourage him to keep trying and eventually grant him access to a custom talent that lets him add the two together as long as he's dual-wielding- bumping it to Crip(2), which isn't that great a buff, but might be worth a tier 2 talent, probably Khorne aligned.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Only War:

"If a crippled character takes more than a Half Action on his Turn, he suffers Rending Damage equal to the number in parentheses (X) to whichever location received the original Damage."

Will this change anything because the question: cumulative, or not cumulative? For Example: A character take damage with crippling (2) on a leg, and 2x crippling (1) on the other leg.

Take he on one leg 1 and on the other 2 dmg? Or only 2 dmg on the first leg and the other take no dmg?

I hope you will understand what I mean.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It's more ambiguous. RAW it just tells where to apply damage, but mechanically this doesn't matter without Critical Damage. Then again, neither does the damage type. It could be interpreted as

A. damage to each affected location, thus effectively status applies per location too. Then it's left leg crippled(1), right leg crippled(2), 3 damage, thus if triggered at 0 Wounds applies Critical Damage effects as with separate injuries: 1 Rending to  the left leg and 2 Rending to the right leg. Or

B. it works as in earlier versions, but also if triggered at 0 Wounds automatically applies (N) Rending Critical Damage (debilitating effects) to all affected locations as if those were separate injuries. In which case it's crippled(1): left leg and crippled(2): right leg, so 2 damage, but at 0 Wounds suffers effects of 1 Rending to  the left leg and 2 Rending to the right leg. It matters more if locations have different effects.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...