Sign in to follow this  
Mereghost

Imperial Creed

Hi folks,

I have some (not that much) knowledge of the 40k universe (or backdrop universe as you wish :P) but recently, after being inquired by one of my players, I noticed that are some tidbits of info missing (and I can't find the answer).

What are  the virtues preached by the Imperial Creed? My guess (and the answer my player got) was the classical warrior virtues plus obedience, subservience and humility.

Any thoughts on that?

Kind of depends on what version of the Imperial Creed you're talking about too.  You have to remember the Imperial Cult isn't a single cult, but multiple cult each believing similiar but not exactly the same thing.  A good analog would be Christianity today, where they all the different denominations and such believe the same basics, but after that things get... touchy...

Basically they all preach that the Emperor is God.  Serve the Emperor in any capacity that he requires of you, do so willingly, be willing to sacrifice everything and anything for the good of the Imperium.  Hate the Mutant, the Psyker, the Witch.  Occasionaly the Ruinous Powers is lightly touched upon, but the Imperial Cult doesn't like to really mention them to the masses, so generally the masses are totally ignorant about the forces of Chaos.

After that, it becomes different depending on the cult, and who they are preaching too.  Obviously a cleric preaching to a noble is going to be very different then a cleric preaching to some lower hive dweller.  A cleric preaching to adepts of the munitorium is going to be different then a cleric preaching to an Adept cataloging tithes from sector planets.

Plus then the indivdual clerics beliefs are going to change thing.  One who follows Saint Drusus is going to be much more different then a Cleric who holds the Patron Saint of Lost Causes as his charge.

Imperial values, hmm...

-Fear and hate the unknown.

-Knowledge leads to damnation.

-Innocence proves nothing.