Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
JJGlyph

Melisandre (core) and Tourney for the Hand card.

12 posts in this topic

We have a Knight of Flowers on the table with power on him. Melisandre is also on the table controlled by an opponent. The player with Knight of flowers pulled Tourney for the Hand as their plot card. Does Tourney cause the Knight to be immune to Melisandres ability? Thus making his power count toward winning for that turn.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It's not technically an ability, because it is not triggered. It's a passive constant. As long as she is in play, and her text box is not blanked by a card effect, whether it be a plot, event, or attachment, the power on Knight of Flowers will not count towards the total power in your example.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Melisandre doesn't act on the Knight of Flowers directly; she prevents you (the player) from counting the power on him toward you total.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It's not technically an ability, because it is not triggered. It's a passive constant. As long as she is in play, and her text box is not blanked by a card effect, whether it be a plot, event, or attachment, the power on Knight of Flowers will not count towards the total power in your example.

 

Actually, abilities can be triggered, passive or constant. These are 3 different things (there's no such thing as a passive constant). Melisandre (CS) has 2 constant abilities: the STR boost while she is standing (this is a conditional constant ability) and not counting power on opponent's characters.

 

@Radiskull: I'd say she is affecting the power, but since it is not covered by immunity either, the end result is the same.

Edited by Khudzlin

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

@Radiskull: I'd say she is affecting the power, but since it is not covered by immunity either, the end result is the same.

 

Yeah, I could get behind that interpretation - but as you say, the result is the same.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Her ability definitely affects the power. It's the subject of the effect.

 

"Power on opponents' characters does not count towards their total power."

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ignore mdc, who will probably post some long-winded explanation of his interpretation that criticizes the rules of the game for being confusing and vague.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Skowza - wow, really? Frankly, MDC was just underscoring what was already said. As someone who has been publicly critical of some of MDC's specific posts... I feel your comment was uncalled for in this context. His post was neither confusing, argumentative, nor long-winded.

 

(Not that he needs me to defend him... but c'mon man... really.)

-Istaril and Bomb like this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ok, you're right, I had expected his post to be followed up by something that exceeded the character limit for posts. I apologize mdc, and to the rest of the community as well since we do a good job of keeping troll-free friendly forums and I think we all want to keep it that way.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Lulz.

 

I appreciate the defense and the apology. I know I irritate people, but it's not intentional. Most people who know me in real life just know I say what I want to say with little filter. I try not to be tactless, but that's about it. I've been told I have no tact before, though. Haha. The majority of my long posts can be ignored by the average player.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0