Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Wolftame

Turn end automatic?

12 posts in this topic

Does my turn as an activated hero end immediately after I've concluded my second action or does it last until I "hand over" to the next char?

The reason I wonder is this scenario:
I am in second part of the Fat Goblin and fighting a shadow dragon while standing next to a search token. My first action was an attack and I had to pay the fatigue to not miss, doing so I reached my stamina limit so no more attack for me. So second action I do a search and geta  stamina potion. Now I'm out of actions for my turn, but stamina potion use doesn't require an action, only that I use it during my turn. So now I wonder, is my turn now over or can I use it immediately to have fresh supply of stamina for next round (and any unforeseen things until then) or do I have to wait and use it before any actions next turn?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Your turn goes on if you have something to do, even after having spent your two actions.
Typically, the use of fatigue move would be allowed or, as in your case, the use of a potion which does not require spending an action.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Your turn goes on if you have something to do, even after having spent your two actions.

Typically, the use of fatigue move would be allowed or, as in your case, the use of a potion which does not require spending an action.

 

I agree that your turn doesn't end immediately after spending two actions – but as a piggyback question/thought on this topic, don't you have to wait until the next turn to use a search item you just found?

 

In the hero turn summary, the "equip items" step happens before you perform any actions:

 

"2. Equip Items: If the player wishes to equip different items, he must do so during this step.

Any excess items are flipped facedown and may not be used until they are equipped."

 

In the equipment section of the rulebook, search cards appear to be classified as equipment:

 

"Equipment.  Each hero can carry any number of Shop Item, Class and Search cards he chooses.  However, the number of these cards that a hero may equip is limited

Cards that do not contain at least one of these icons can be equipped without restriction."

 

This seems to imply that Search cards are equipment that must be equipped before performing any actions in order to be able to use it, albeit equipment that has no restriction on how many you can carry.

 

I'm not saying you're wrong, and maybe this has been cleared up somewhere, I'm just sort of posting my thoughts and confusion.

 

 

Edit: As a side note, don't you spend surges to ensure a hit on a Shadow Dragon, not fatigue?

Edited by SaltyFishsticks

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think that you are right about equipping (I don't have the rulebook handy).

As for the Shadow Dragon, you need a surge to be able to attack when you are adjacent to it - even when attacking another monster.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As for the Shadow Dragon, you need a surge to be able to attack when you are adjacent to it - even when attacking another monster.

 

DOH! Quite right, my bad. That makes them kinda hard to hit and quite dangerous opponents.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I agree that your turn doesn't end immediately after spending two actions – but as a piggyback question/thought on this topic, don't you have to wait until the next turn to use a search item you just found?

 

In the hero turn summary, the "equip items" step happens before you perform any actions:

 

"2. Equip Items: If the player wishes to equip different items, he must do so during this step.

Any excess items are flipped facedown and may not be used until they are equipped."

 

In the equipment section of the rulebook, search cards appear to be classified as equipment:

 

"Equipment.  Each hero can carry any number of Shop Item, Class and Search cards he chooses.  However, the number of these cards that a hero may equip is limited

Cards that do not contain at least one of these icons can be equipped without restriction."

 

This seems to imply that Search cards are equipment that must be equipped before performing any actions in order to be able to use it, albeit equipment that has no restriction on how many you can carry.

 

I read that as equipping/unequipping items that have a limit to show what item is currently in use (if you have multiple items that exceeds your limit. I do agree though that the very last line suggest that potions might have to be "equipped" to be used which would postpone their use one turn. The caveat there is then they are supposed to be flipped over untill equipped, which is also what you do after having used them up... 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Your turn goes on if you have something to do, even after having spent your two actions.

Typically, the use of fatigue move would be allowed or, as in your case, the use of a potion which does not require spending an action.

I agree that your turn doesn't end immediately after spending two actions – but as a piggyback question/thought on this topic, don't you have to wait until the next turn to use a search item you just found?

In the hero turn summary, the "equip items" step happens before you perform any actions:

"2. Equip Items: If the player wishes to equip different items, he must do so during this step.

Any excess items are flipped facedown and may not be used until they are equipped."

In the equipment section of the rulebook, search cards appear to be classified as equipment:

"Equipment. Each hero can carry any number of Shop Item, Class and Search cards he chooses. However, the number of these cards that a hero may equip is limited

Cards that do not contain at least one of these icons can be equipped without restriction."

This seems to imply that Search cards are equipment that must be equipped before performing any actions in order to be able to use it, albeit equipment that has no restriction on how many you can carry.

I'm not saying you're wrong, and maybe this has been cleared up somewhere, I'm just sort of posting my thoughts and confusion.

Edit: As a side note, don't you spend surges to ensure a hit on a Shadow Dragon, not fatigue?

Search items can be used immediately. http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/12213155#12213155

Edit: doesn't actually say search items. But I think we can extrapolate.

Edited by mustardayonnaiz

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

 

Your turn goes on if you have something to do, even after having spent your two actions.

Typically, the use of fatigue move would be allowed or, as in your case, the use of a potion which does not require spending an action.

I agree that your turn doesn't end immediately after spending two actions – but as a piggyback question/thought on this topic, don't you have to wait until the next turn to use a search item you just found?

In the hero turn summary, the "equip items" step happens before you perform any actions:

"2. Equip Items: If the player wishes to equip different items, he must do so during this step.

Any excess items are flipped facedown and may not be used until they are equipped."

In the equipment section of the rulebook, search cards appear to be classified as equipment:

"Equipment. Each hero can carry any number of Shop Item, Class and Search cards he chooses. However, the number of these cards that a hero may equip is limited

Cards that do not contain at least one of these icons can be equipped without restriction."

This seems to imply that Search cards are equipment that must be equipped before performing any actions in order to be able to use it, albeit equipment that has no restriction on how many you can carry.

I'm not saying you're wrong, and maybe this has been cleared up somewhere, I'm just sort of posting my thoughts and confusion.

Edit: As a side note, don't you spend surges to ensure a hit on a Shadow Dragon, not fatigue?

Search items can be used immediately. http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/12213155#12213155

Edit: doesn't actually say search items. But I think we can extrapolate.

 

 

I was happy with this answer, but I just realized… there are a lot of search items that aren't potions.  And he specifically rules on potions.

 

Anyone have a ruling on search cards that aren't potions?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I was happy with this answer, but I just realized… there are a lot of search items that aren't potions.  And he specifically rules on potions.

 

Anyone have a ruling on search cards that aren't potions?

 

 

That's exactly what Mustard was suggesting you extrapolate.  The ruling on this question specifically discusses potions, but the rules in the book are not specifically for potions, they are for all search items.

 

If you follow the links in the BGG thread, you can see that the person who emailed FFG asked specifically about potions.  FFG has a funny habit of answering the question that was asked, therefore their answer specifically discussed potions as well.  But logically, the ruling would apply to all search items because RAW doe snot actually differentiate between potions and other search items.

 

Of course, if that's not good enough for you, feel free to email FFG yourself to clarify...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0