Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
SaltyFishsticks

Leoric of the Book's Heroic Feat

9 posts in this topic

Hey guys!

 

Ran into this during a game – when using Leoric's Heroic Feat, does his attack also affect himself?

 

Intuitively it seems like it certainly should not:

 

"Perform an attack with a magic weapon.  This attack ignores range and targets each figure adjacent to you.  1 attack roll is made but each figure rolls defense dice separately."

 

It seems to be the same as Whirlwind or the Elemental's "Fire" ability, and shouldn't affect Leoric himself, but someone said that it had been confirmed that Leoric's feat does indeed affect himself.

 

I couldn't find anything with a google search and I didn't see it in the official FAQ nor the unofficial BGG FAQ.

 

Anyone have a link to a ruling on this?  And does the same apply to the Whirlwind and Fire skills?  (And as a follow up, if it's true, why?  It seems like that wouldn't make sense since Leoric is not adjacent to himself).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Based on various other rulings, "adjacent" does not count as being in the same space. (This has come up for a number of Familiar abilities) This is different than "within X spaces of you," which does include the space you're in. (Including the ruling on Break The Rune, which they've admitted might make the card undesirable, but is still the case according to RAW.) Think of it as this:

 

your space = 0 spaces away

adjacent = 1 space away

within X spaces = less than or equal to X spaces away (which includes 0 spaces away).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hey guys I just wanted to jump in this topic and ask about Leoric's heroic feat so I don't have to add a new topic. Me and my group are a little hazy on the way this works. This is how we feel it works, please let me know if I am correct. Use the heroic feat and target a monster say, 5 spaces away. Ignore range so that is does not miss that monster, and it also hits every figure adjacent to Leoric. So it basically hits a monster at range and every one around him. Is that correct? Thanks!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hey guys I just wanted to jump in this topic and ask about Leoric's heroic feat so I don't have to add a new topic. Me and my group are a little hazy on the way this works. This is how we feel it works, please let me know if I am correct. Use the heroic feat and target a monster say, 5 spaces away. Ignore range so that is does not miss that monster, and it also hits every figure adjacent to Leoric. So it basically hits a monster at range and every one around him. Is that correct? Thanks!

No- he cannot target that 5 spaces away monster. The attack ONLY works on all adjacent figures to him, no one else.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Oh, I guess ignore range means the attack type, not the actual dice roll. Thanks again!

'Ignores range' means that for this attack, it is impossible to miss by range (even if one of the targeted figures has "Stealthy".)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

Oh, I guess ignore range means the attack type, not the actual dice roll. Thanks again!

'Ignores range' means that for this attack, it is impossible to miss by range (even if one of the targeted figures has "Stealthy".)

 

So, in our current campaign Leoric got this staff http://descent2e.wikia.com/wiki/Staff_of_Greyhaven. Is it legal to convert range to damage in this example?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes. The range is still shown on the dice and still part of the attack results. "Ignore range" means "don't check range" as in step 3, meaning you just cannot miss due to range.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0