Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Kheivalo

Bloodletter vs. Toughness

Recommended Posts

Last night one friend in my playgroup playing Chaos had out a Bloodletter, and was playing a second player with Dwarves (and lots of Toughness).  We had to do some thinking when we finally got to the part in combat where both the Bloodletter's constant effect and the Toughness ability were resolving at the same time.

 

So the latest FAQ came out and explained that the Bloodletter turns each damage into 2 as it is assigned to the enemy target.  This is a constant effect. So is toughness, which cancels damage as it is assigned. 

 

Since both trigger off the condition of assigning damage, and constant effects resolve first when effects resolve, with the active player deciding what resolves first in the case of a tie, we decided that when attacking the side with Bloodletter the person with Toughness (active player) would choose to resolve the Toughness first, and thereby cancel each 1 damage before it has a chance to split into two. 

 

Alternatively, when the Bloodletter's controller is attacking they can choose to resolve the Bloodletter's constant effect first, thereby doubling the damage before it hits the Toughness, basically turning the ability into butter. 

 

I was just wondering what the community thought on this, and whether everyone would agree  or disagree with our perspective. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Cancelling Damage (v2.0)
Some card effects (such as Toughness) cancel damage. Damage is cancelled after it is assigned, but right before it is applied.

 

First you double damage with Bloodletter, then you cancel it with Toughness.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...