Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Cursain

Sweep + Reach

49 posts in this topic

Everyone except Hero 3 would be hit.  Note that this includes the skeleton; Sweep affects all figures in range and LoS.

 

Hero 3 is only saved because the giant doesn't have Line of Sight to him.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Everyone except Hero 3 would be hit.  Note that this includes the skeleton; Sweep affects all figures in range and LoS.

 

Hero 3 is only saved because the giant doesn't have Line of Sight to him.

 

Looks like you're wrong

"sweep : perform an attack. This attack affects each figures within range of this monster's attack"

So, i would say all figures of the exemple are affected, skeleton also.

RagsMckay likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Looks like you're wrong

"sweep : perform an attack. This attack affects each figures within range of this monster's attack"

So, i would say all figures of the exemple are affected, skeleton also.

 

Am I now?  Not according to the unofficial FAQ over on BGG.

 

"-- Sweep

Q: Does sweep affect all figures in range or is line of sight required also?

A: Sweep requires line of sight to the target."

 

Perhaps you're thinking of the ruling that says abilities don't require LoS unless they explicitly say they do.  That is true, in general.  However, Sweep says to "perform an attack" that affects all figures in range.  Attacks, per the rules on page 12, require Line of Sight.

Cursain likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As long as it's unofficial, i'm not sure about it.

 

logically, the attack would affect all figure.
Maybe it needed to question FFG, should i do it ?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As long as it's unofficial, i'm not sure about it.

 

logically, the attack would affect all figure.

Maybe it needed to question FFG, should i do it ?

 

You're always free to contact FFG yourself, of course, if you like.

 

Mind you, the answers in the unofficial FAQ all come from FFG employees, based on questions sent in by fans just like you.  The only reason its considered "unofficial" is because it isn't included in the actual FAQ pdf (as yet.)

Robin13 likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

:::Varriant from UOF on BGG:::

 

To me sweep is more of an area of affect type attack like blast. I don't feel that blast needs LOS and therfore I feel that Sweep does not need LOS either. You only make one attack that affects multiple targets.

 

I know this goes aggainst the unoficial faq on board game geeks, hence the header. This is just my opinion and you play the way you need to.

Silverhelm likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

:::Varriant from UOF on BGG:::

 

To me sweep is more of an area of affect type attack like blast. I don't feel that blast needs LOS and therfore I feel that Sweep does not need LOS either. You only make one attack that affects multiple targets.

 

I know this goes aggainst the unoficial faq on board game geeks, hence the header. This is just my opinion and you play the way you need to.

Sweep isn't AOE? Well that's just silly! I don't have anything that can sweep but if I did I'm sure we all agree its AOE.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I am in the camp that LoS is needed for an attack. The difference with the Blast comment is Blast only needs LoS on the first target after that the effects take over. You can't reach attack something that you can not see. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I disagree,

 

If I have three people stand in a line: 1 2 3

 

If 1 swings a long pole at 2 and the pole is long enough to hit 3. Well 3 will be hit. It didn't matter if 1 saw him or not. Sweep isn't a targeting attack. It is an area of affect.

 

Again this is all my opinion.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I disagree,

 

If I have three people stand in a line: 1 2 3

 

If 1 swings a long pole at 2 and the pole is long enough to hit 3. Well 3 will be hit. It didn't matter if 1 saw him or not. Sweep isn't a targeting attack. It is an area of affect.

 

Again this is all my opinion.

same idea here

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This is how I reason, after the rules (rather than after any idea of "reality", which is void within a rules application debate) :

 

1) Reach attack requires LOS.*

See p. 13 : "The Reach keyword allows the figure to use a Melee attack to target a figure up to two spaces away, rather than only adjacent spaces. The target still needs to be in line of sight."

 

2) In the case of Sweep, the only non adjacent figures that can be attacked are attacked by the giant's Reach ability.

 

3) So LOS is necessary for Sweep to affect one of its targets. No need to repeat what is already explained about Reach in the rules.

 

* BTW, the "pole" idea given by RagsMckay does not fit the reach rule - so it cannot apply to the Sweep rule either.

Edited by Robin

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This is how I reason, after the rules (rather than after any idea of "reality", which is void within a rules application debate) :

 

1) Reach attack requires LOS.*

See p. 13 : "The Reach keyword allows the figure to use a Melee attack to target a figure up to two spaces away, rather than only adjacent spaces. The target still needs to be in line of sight."

 

2) In the case of Sweep, the only non adjacent figures that can be attacked are attacked by the giant's Reach ability.

 

3) So LOS is necessary for Sweep to affect one of its targets. No need to repeat what is already explained about Reach in the rules.

 

* BTW, the "pole" idea given by RagsMckay does not fit the reach rule - so it cannot apply to the Sweep rule either.

 

So your answer is based on the argument that the reach attack is made first and sweep is added to it.

 

Could you not also make an argument based on the sweep being the primary attack and adding reach to it. Look at the definition of sweep:

 

Sweep: Perform an attack. This attack affects each figure within range of this monster's attack. Each figure rolls defense die separately.

 

Emphisis mine. Because the sweep says to make an attack not targeting any specific square and everything with in range is affected. Because of reach the other figure is now within range.

 

So creature 1 decides to swing a pole as a sweeping attack and creatures 2 and 3 are in the way, hence affected by the attack.

 

::Again this is my opinion. I happen to disagree the one of the creators answers and am explaining why I disagree.::

Edited by RagsMckay

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ranged attack always requires LOS.

So the "within range" specification does imply that LOS is required.

**Of course, I am just having a nice time debating about the rules. Let's see what FFG answers.**

Kunzite likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

official answer

 

Heroes 1, 2, and 4 would be affected, as well as the skeleton archer. Line of sight is needed
 
Thanks,
Justin Kemppainen
 
looks like I was wrong, so, even if i still consider it's strange.
Edited by rugal

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Let me see if I got this right if I have LOS of target 2 and not adjacent 1 and 3 I can't hit them with the AoE of sweep? Would something as big as a giant care if his leg, or exstention of his arm (a weapon) hit a door frame, or a barrel (in some cases probably breaking that too)? Think of the Troll in Lord of the Rings a giant is bigger then that. If you are a hero with this ability then you possess the power of a giant. Have reach? Then your simply a giant with either a long weapon like a pike or you have long arms. Either way no door frame will stop this attack! And hiding behind it shouldn't matter. And heroes should be getting there defense dice ready or carving a tomb stone before it hits.

It shouldn't matter if you have reach or not in my opinion.

Edited by Silverhelm

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It shouldn't matter if you have reach or not in my opinion.

 

If it bugs you that much, make a house rule.  RAW is RAW, doesn't mean you have to play by it.

Robin13 likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Rugal, don't worry: I consider things strange when I finally realise that I was right ! ;-)

In a game which has abstractions by definition, having one's "idea of reality" being hurt is unavoidable.

BTW, that sense of reality accepts that sweep does not work through doors or walls...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As I said to Justin, a sentence is missing

 

For Sweep, figures do not block line of sight.

You mean that you would like to change the RAW, so that it fits your (wrong) interpretation ?

Better create a house rule rather than try to force FFG in creating a supplemental erratum.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0