Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Aminar

Focus spending.

12 posts in this topic

Can a focus token be spent even if none of my dice have focus eyeballs showing? Specifically so Garven can ditch a token to someone else. I think so, but during my last tournament we went with no(I didn't want to push the issue at the time.)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Q: Can Garven Dreis spend a focus token to 

modify dice even if he didn’t roll any 
symbols?
A: Yes.

 

At this time, I think he's the only pilot who would benefit from doing this, although presumably you could do this with any pilot, for no effective benefit. (Or on a future pilot with a positive result of Focus spending)

CrookedWookie likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Aminar its on page two of the faq.

Q: Can Garven Dreis spend a focus token to modify dice even if he didn’t roll any symbols?

A: Yes

Im curious how the TO did not know that.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

so if I roll 3 dice… no eye symbols (with Garvin)… results of hit/blank/blank….can I change the two blanks to hits??? and just for my knowledge how and why did this come to be a question that made the FAQ??  thanks...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

so if I roll 3 dice… no eye symbols (with Garvin)… results of hit/blank/blank….can I change the two blanks to hits??? and just for my knowledge how and why did this come to be a question that made the FAQ??  thanks...

You can spend the focus token (changing nothing since you didn't roll any focus results). That lets you pass his focus token using his ability still.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

so if I roll 3 dice… no eye symbols (with Garvin)… results of hit/blank/blank….can I change the two blanks to hits??? and just for my knowledge how and why did this come to be a question that made the FAQ??  thanks...

 

No, nothing changes.  Spending a focus allows you to change all *eyes* to *hits*.  The blanks are not eyes, and spending a focus token does nothing to change them.

 

This just means that it does not matter how many *eye* results are showing, regardless of whether that number is 0 or 50, you can spend a focus to change every *eye* to a *hit* and ignore the rest.

 

It matters because once Garven uses his focus token, rather than discard it he hands it to another nearby allied ship.  So he can spend the token and hand it off regardless of how many *eye* results he rolled.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0