• Announcements

    • FFG Fra

      Upcoming Changes to the Fantasy Flight Games Forums   01/20/2017

      Hello Fantasy Flight Games forum community!   This week, we will be making some important changes to your Fantasy Flight Games community account and the way that you log into the Fantasy Flight Games community forums and web store.   We have been working hard to integrate with the rest of the Asmodee group, and we are happy to announce a unified way to access all the websites and apps made by Fantasy Flight Games, Days of Wonder, and Asmodee!   For most users, nothing will change: you will still log into the Fantasy Flight Games forums using your current login name and password. Only the login user interface will be new.   For a few users, your credentials might be slightly changed. For example, this could happen to users who have both a Fantasy Flight Games and Days of Wonder account, or in the case of conflicting login names across platforms. When these situations occur, special e-mails will be sent to those users with an easy explanation about those changes and what steps to take next. For any of you receiving those e-mails, please make sure to follow the instructions carefully.   Remember, official communications from Fantasy Flight Games or Asmodee.Net will never ask for your password.   What are the benefits for you as a player? Using a unified account to access all of our web services and apps makes your life simpler. Over time, you will see new features emerging, such as keeping all of your friends under a single account, finding friends easily in apps with online play, or developing your personal profile by adding to your board games collection. These are just some of the features that you will see during the next year, once this important technical step is complete.   Important note: The migration of the forums to our new system will take place on Tuesday, January 24th. The forums will be offline for about two hours during that time. Once the migration is complete, older forum posts may look strange for up to 24 hours as we rebuild them in our new system.   We can’t wait to connect our board game communities and build bridges between universes, game systems, players, events, groups, game clubs, and more! This is only the first step in bringing people and games closer together. For more information, read our FAQ at https://asmodee.helpshift.com/a/asmodee-net/.   Best regards,   The Fantasy Flight Games Team
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Aminar

Focus spending.

12 posts in this topic

Can a focus token be spent even if none of my dice have focus eyeballs showing? Specifically so Garven can ditch a token to someone else. I think so, but during my last tournament we went with no(I didn't want to push the issue at the time.)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Q: Can Garven Dreis spend a focus token to 

modify dice even if he didn’t roll any 
symbols?
A: Yes.

 

At this time, I think he's the only pilot who would benefit from doing this, although presumably you could do this with any pilot, for no effective benefit. (Or on a future pilot with a positive result of Focus spending)

CrookedWookie likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Aminar its on page two of the faq.

Q: Can Garven Dreis spend a focus token to modify dice even if he didn’t roll any symbols?

A: Yes


Im curious how the TO did not know that.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

so if I roll 3 dice… no eye symbols (with Garvin)… results of hit/blank/blank….can I change the two blanks to hits??? and just for my knowledge how and why did this come to be a question that made the FAQ??  thanks...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

so if I roll 3 dice… no eye symbols (with Garvin)… results of hit/blank/blank….can I change the two blanks to hits??? and just for my knowledge how and why did this come to be a question that made the FAQ??  thanks...


You can spend the focus token (changing nothing since you didn't roll any focus results). That lets you pass his focus token using his ability still.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

so if I roll 3 dice… no eye symbols (with Garvin)… results of hit/blank/blank….can I change the two blanks to hits??? and just for my knowledge how and why did this come to be a question that made the FAQ??  thanks...

 

No, nothing changes.  Spending a focus allows you to change all *eyes* to *hits*.  The blanks are not eyes, and spending a focus token does nothing to change them.

 

This just means that it does not matter how many *eye* results are showing, regardless of whether that number is 0 or 50, you can spend a focus to change every *eye* to a *hit* and ignore the rest.

 

It matters because once Garven uses his focus token, rather than discard it he hands it to another nearby allied ship.  So he can spend the token and hand it off regardless of how many *eye* results he rolled.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0